Oatmeal Blueberry & White Chocolate Chip Cookies

I woke up the other morning craving oatmeal cookies.  I’m not sure why I woke up craving these cookies in particular, but I told my husband this and he began craving these scrumptious little goodies as well.  The craving would not dissipate, so I reneged on the promise I had made to myself to try to eat healthier.  The go-to recipe I use for oatmeal cookies can be found right on the lid of the Quaker Oats box.  This is a wonderful recipe that I have had no intentions of trying to change… until now.


The changes I made were merely to satisfy my own curiosity and attempt at food experimentation.  Instead of using raisins, I normally use craisins.  The red makes the cookies more vibrant and even gives them a little bit more sweetness than raisins do.  However, this time I opted to use dried blueberries that I had recently bought from the grocery store.  I was not planning on using white chocolate chips until I found them in my cupboard, lonely, bag almost empty.  I decided this would make for an interesting cookie and quite possibly one that would ward off our cravings.  I also decided to use white wheat flour along with the all-purpose flour.  Wheat flour offers more fiber and is more nutritious, so I mixed this in probably to make myself feel better about the fact that I had broken my promise to curb my sweet intake.  The result turned out to be something extraordinary.  Even though the dried blueberries are much smaller than raisins or craisins, they pack a mean flavor punch.  Amidst the butter, brown sugar, and white chocolate, the blueberry flavor is still distinctive and pleasantly unique.  The white chocolate adds a bit of texture and even more sweetness.  Definitely try these cookies out if you are craving an oatmeal cookie!

Ingredients:

1 stick unsalted butter plus 6 TBsps                 1/2 tsp. salt

3/4 C dark brown sugar                                      1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 C sugar                                                             1 tsp. cinnamon

2 eggs                                                                     3 C old fashioned oats

1 tsp. vanilla                                                          3/4 C dried blueberries

3/4 C white whole wheat flour                         1/2 C white chocolate chips

3/4 C all-purpose flour

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.  Beat the butter and sugars together on medium speed until creamy and smooth.  Add the eggs and vanilla and beat until smooth.  Combine the dry ingredients together and add to the butter mixture.  Mix the ingredients until well blended.  With a wooden spoon, add the oats, the dried blueberries, and the white chocolate chips until blended.  Using a cookie scoop, place the cookies 2” apart on a parchment lined baking sheet.  Bake 8-10 minutes or until golden brown on the bottom.  Allow to cool on a wire rack.  Store in an airtight container.  Makes about 3 dozen cookies.

1 Comment

Filed under Desserts

One response to “Oatmeal Blueberry & White Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Mom Kenyon

    I’ll have to run out and get some dried blueberries. These look delicious. Do you think you could use fresh blueberries?

Leave a Reply

