Moroccan-Spiced Beef with Couscous

This morning I grabbed some ground beef out of the freezer to have defrosted and ready to go for dinner when I got home.  However, I realized I didn’t know what I wanted to make.  I knew I wanted to make something simple and quick – nothing that would take longer than 30 minutes since I’m usually starving when I get home from work.  Also, I wanted to make something with ingredients I already had on hand.  My usual ground beef standbys are pasta with beef ragu, tacos, meatloaf, meatballs, etc… But I just didn’t feel like making the same old fare.  I began thinking about all the spices that I have.  Many of these spices rarely get used.  In my case, Turmeric, Paprika, Coriander, All Spice, etc… I have all of these, but they’re just not in my traditional cooking repertoire.   However, it is nice on rare occasions when I find a recipe that requires any of them (i.e. Moroccan-Spiced Beef).

I found this recipe in Good Housekeeping and was excited that it was fairly straightforward and not very time consuming.  The flavors in this dish are quite different from what my husband and I are used to eating… different in a nice way though.  Sometimes change is good and this is often the case with us when we eat the same flavors or cuisines over and over again.  So if you have some ground beef on hand and you want to literally spice up your food, this is a great recipe.  It’s also great for those folks, like myself, who have a lot of spices (i.e. paprika and all spice) lying around in their cupboards.  Enjoy!

Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 2 carrots diced
  • 1 onion diced
  • 1 tbsp paprika
  • 1 tsp all spice
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 1 can chickpeas drained
  • 1 c fresh parsley chopped
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • fresh cracked pepper for seasoning
  • 1/2 c chicken broth
  • 1 box plain couscous

Directions:

  1. Heat olive oil in a skillet over medium heat and add carrots, onion, paprika, all spice, and cinnamon.  Saute until veggies are tender, about 10 minutes.
  2. Stir in ground beef and cook until meat is no longer pink, about 5 minutes.
  3. Stir in the chickpeas, parsley, salt, cracked pepper, and chicken broth.  Simmer uncovered for 10 minutes or until mixture thickens slightly.
  4. Meanwhile, prepare couscous as directed.
  5. Serve beef mixture over the couscous
1 Comment

Filed under Main Course

One response to “Moroccan-Spiced Beef with Couscous

  1. Mom

    This looks really delicious and like you say use up spices that normally sit around and you wind up throwing them out because of expiration. Good recipe for this weekend since it is supposed to be cool and rainy. YUM!!

Leave a Reply

