Blueberry Cheesecake Squares w/ Hazelnuts

My very dear friend from college recently emailed me asking for dessert suggestions for a special luncheon at her office.  She was planning on baking the strawberry scones that I shared with you guys a couple weeks ago and possibly another dessert.  Because my friend lives in NYC, I wanted to find her another dessert recipe that would be easy for her to make and even easier for her to transport on the subway.  I looked through my favorite baking cookbook called the Essentials of Baking. Seeing as how it’s blueberry season, the perfect recipe popped off the page at me: blueberry cheesecake squares with hazelnuts.  I’d never made these bars before, but since I already had some fresh blueberries on hand, I decided to give them a whirl before sharing this recipe with my friend.  I made a few changes and was pleasantly pleased at how scrumptious these bars came out and how easy they would be for my friend to bring to work.  I wanted to share this recipe with all of you and thank my dear friend for thinking of me and my recipes!

Ingredients for the Crust:

  • 1 1/4 c flour
  • 1/3 c sugar
  • 1/2 c chopped hazelnuts
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/2 c unsalted butter, cold and cut into small pieces

Ingredients for the Filling:

  • 8 oz cream cheese
  • 1/4 c sugar
  • 2 tbsp flour
  • 2 large eggs at room temp
  • 1/4 c plain yogurt
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 c fresh blueberries

Directions for Crust:

  1. Preheat the oven to 325 degrees and grease a 9″ square baking pan
  2. Stir the flour, sugar, hazelnuts, and salt together.
  3. Using a pastry cutter or knife, cut the cold butter into the flour mix until pea-size crumbs form
  4. Press the crust into mix into the bottom and the sides of the pan
  5. Bake the crust for 15-20 minutes or until the crust looks dry. Set aside

Directions for the Filling:

  1. In a large bowl, beat the cream cheese and sugar until smooth. Add in the flour and beat until smooth
  2. Add the eggs, one a time until the mixture is creamy and smooth
  3. Add the milk, yogurt, and vanilla and beat until combined
  4. Gently fold the blueberries into the batter
  5. Pour the batter into the crust and bake for 30-35 minutes. The filling is done when you give the pan a gentle shake and the center is set.
  6. Allow to cool for 1 hour and then cover with plastic wrap and refrigerate overnight
  7. Cut into 16 squares and serve cold. Can be stored up to 3 days in the refrigerator
5 Comments

Filed under Baked Goods, Desserts

5 responses to “Blueberry Cheesecake Squares w/ Hazelnuts

  1. Cara

    Yay! I’m the “dear friend”. The scones turned out delish! Can’t wait to try the blueberry bars. We should all thank you for the time and effort you put into your blog. You made my weekend so much less stressful.

    Roma calls me Benny Crocker, but I think you should join the club as Kenny Crocker.

  2. Mom

    This looks scrumptous. I just picked red raspberries over the weekend so I think I’ll try them instead of raspberries.

  3. Those look amazing. I am still waiting to get some of these delicious looking treats delivered to me at work… hint, hint. 😉

  4. Pingback: 5 v 5 « Beth's Journey to Thin

Leave a Reply

