Homemade Vanilla Extract

Back in March of this year, I decided to make my own vanilla extract.  I love to bake and this is one of those staple ingredients that you always need when baking.  Pure vanilla extract is not cheap either, so I decided to make some of my own.  I let mine sit for 4 months because the longer the vanilla sits, the stronger the extract becomes.  Also, the quality of the vodka determines the quality of the extract.  While you don’t have to use anything expensive and extravagant like Grey Goose, you don’t want to use anything cheap either.  Something in the middle is suitable for making your own extract; I used Smirnoff and was very happy with the taste of my extract.  This made 1 cup of extract which is equivalent to 48 teaspoons – roughly enough to last me 6 months if I average 2 teaspoons per week.  Enjoy!

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup vodka
  • 2 large-sized vanilla beans or 3 medium-sized ones
  • 1 mason jar

Directions:

  1. Sterilize the mason jar with boiling water and allow to dry
  2. Slice the vanilla beans lengthwise and place in jar
  3. Cover the beans with the vodka
  4. Seal the mason jar and shake a few times
  5. Store the jar in a cool cabinet
  6. Shake the jar 1-2 times per week to release the seeds of the vanilla beans
  7. Store for at least 2 months or longer
  8. At the end of the storage period, strain the vanilla extract through cheesecloth or a strainer and store in a tight jar
1 Comment

Filed under Misc.

One response to “Homemade Vanilla Extract

  1. Awesome! We do “Make your Own” Christmas’s with my family and last year my sister made Vanilla extract and I’m still working on using it. She said that you can continue to add vodka as it gets lower and it increases the volume.. the gift that keeps on giving.

Leave a Reply

