Raspberry Risotto


This past weekend my hubby was in Boston, so I decided to grab my puppy and head home for a short visit with my parents.  Besides running away from the unbearable heat that DC has been having, I was able to spend some quality time with my parents, enjoy beautiful central NY, and pick over 5 pounds of my favorite fruit… raspberries.  For $17.80 I got 4 large quarts worth of fresh picked raspberries from Navarino Orchards.  On the drive back home (about 15 minutes away), I had my mom stop the car so I could take some pictures of the countryside that is not only idyllic, but also indicative of what I love about central NY.  (Ironically, the farm that I’ve taken pictures of below is owned and operated by my parents’ former high school classmate.)  What I love about raspberries, or any berry for that matter, is that they are perfectly delicious by themselves with a little sugar and milk.  In fact, that’s the way I remember eating them when I was little, so playing off that idea, I came up with raspberry risotto.  This is basically the fancy name for raspberry rice pudding; I just liked the alliteration.  Hope you had a wonderful weekend and enjoy this recipe!

Ingredients:

  • 1 14 oz can lite coconut milk
  • 1/4 cup skim milk
  • 3/4 cup Arborio rice
  • 1 cinnamon stick
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 cup fresh raspberries
  • 2 tbsp shredded coconut
  • sprinkle of ground cinnamon
Directions:
  1. In a large saucepan, bring milks and 1 cup water to boil over medium-high heat.
  2. Stir in rice, cinnamon stick, and sugar. Reduce heat to low and gently simmer, stirring frequently, until rice is tender and mixture is creamy, about 30 minutes.
  3. Remove from heat and discard cinnamon stick.  Add raspberries and coconut until they are fully mixed in. (Don’t worry if the raspberries start to break up and run… It will make your rice pudding look prettier.)
  4. Garnish with ground cinnamon and more fresh raspberries
  5. Serve hot or chilled
4 Comments

Filed under Desserts

4 responses to “Raspberry Risotto

  1. Mom

    This looks absolutely delicious! I’m making this for dinner tonight. It was so nice that you could come home with the “little boy.” We had fun!!

  2. That looks fantastic! What a creative way to use the raspberries. I wish we got them that cheap around here!

  3. Liss

    Wow! This looks amazing Kar! I will have to try making this.

  4. Mom

    I made this the other night for dinner. It was delicious. Dad loved it!! Thanks for the great recipe. Keep them coming.

Leave a Reply

