Homemade Zesty Salsa

My apologies for being MIA this past week. My family and I went to the Outer Banks, NC for a vacation. We spent a lot of time soaking in the sun at the beach and eating fresh seafood. It was a wonderful, and much needed, break away from reality. Before we left for the OBX, my parents drove down to VA and stayed with us for a night to break up their trip. We then all headed out the next day for NC.

As you may recall, I had purchased 30 pounds of tomatoes from my farmer’s market. Before I left, I wanted to use up the rest of my tomatoes, so my mom helped me can some salsa. This salsa is easy, but so tasty and has a nice little kick from the jalapenos as well – perfect for chips, grilled chicken, fish, pork, etc… Can’t believe the summer is almost over… hope everyone is enjoying it!

My canner

Ingredients:

  • 15 cups chopped tomatoes
  • 5 cups diced white onion
  • 6 jalapenos seeded and diced
  • 4 garlic cloves minced
  • 1/4 c cilantro minced
  • juice of 2 limes
  • 3 tsp salt
  • 1 1/4 cup apple cider vinegar

Directions:

  1. Combine all ingredients in a large stock pot and bring to a boil.  Reduce heat and simmer 10 minutes.
  2. Ladle hot salsa into 4 quart-sized mason jars that have been sterilized. Leave 1/4 inch headspace.
  3. Process 15 minutes in a boiling-water canner.
  4. Allow jars to cool.  Once cool, press down on lid to ensure properly sealed.
  5. Store in a cool place.

Yields: 4 Quarts

Here are some pics from my vacation!

3 Comments

Filed under Misc.

3 responses to “Homemade Zesty Salsa

  1. Love the salsa idea, it’s awesome to have some yummy salsa ready to go. Beautiful sunset.

  2. Nice pics from vacation! I’m so jealous you got to be at a beach.. I need that!

    I’ve never heard of cooking salsa before. That looks fantastic!

  3. OMG, I am so ready for my own vacation now! That salsa looks great!

Leave a Reply

