Homemade Applesauce

Fall is my favorite season; I love the beautiful foliage, the crisp weather, and the fact that it’s apple-picking time. Even though it’s not officially fall yet, apples are already in season. Because I grew up about 15 minutes away from an apple orchard called Beak & Skiff, we’d go up there a few times every fall to pick apples. My mom would make applesauce, apple pie, apple crisp, apple brownies, apple coffee cake, etc., basically anything and everything apple. I became so accustomed to picking fresh apples each fall that I still know which apples are generally picked when and what types of apples are good for baking and/or eating. Paula Red is the first type of apple that comes out each fall in Central NY. They are generally used for eating and/or for applesauce. My sister was back home for a short visit, so she was nice enough to bring me back a bag of Paula Reds. I made apple sauce and then canned it so it would last longer. I like my apple sauce a little bit chunky, so I do not puree it. I also only use cinnamon in my applesauce. I made an exception this time and used 1 tsp of nutmeg. Never again! Other spices like nutmeg, clove, or all spice tend to overpower the flavor of the apples. While my applesauce turned out great, I did not like the strong taste of nutmeg (a little goes a long way). Next time, I will be sure to only use cinnamon like I normally do, but it’s definitely a personal preference!

Have you ever tried making applesauce before?  If so, do you remember what type of apple you used? Do you like to use other spices besides cinnamon?

Throughout the fall, I will be posting a lot of apple recipes. Apple (and pumpkin) are two of my favorite fall flavors, so if you have any recipes you’d like to share or you’d like me to try out please let me know! I’m always looking for new and different ways to use simple ingredients like apples or pumpkin.  Don’t be shy!!!!

Ingredients:

  • 1 c water
  • 2 TBSP lemon juice
  • 3 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 1/4 c sugar
  • 15 large, tart apples like Paula Red

Directions:

  1. Peel and roughly slice apples.
  2. Place apples in a large stock pot.
  3. Add the sugar and cinnamon to the apples and mix well.
  4. Add water and lemon juice to the apples.
  5. Over medium heat, simmer apples until they begin to soften.
  6. If desired, use a potato masher to mash apples.
  7. When applesauce has reached desirable consistency, pour into mason jars.
  8. Using a hot water-bath method, lower mason jars into boiling water and boil for 20 minutes.
  9. Allow jars to cool and check seals, by pressing hardly down with your thumb. If there is no give, the jars have properly sealed.
  10. Store in a cool, dry place. After opening a jar, refrigerate.

Makes 3 Quarts

2 Comments

Filed under Baked Goods, Desserts

2 responses to “Homemade Applesauce

  1. Mom Kenyon

    The applesauce looks great. I agree, cinnamon is the only spice that you need in your applesauce or any apple recipe I make. It’s a preference. I have another apple recipe that I’ll post later.

  2. mmm I love homemade apple sauce. I’ve never made it but my mom makes it from time to time and I always love it.

Leave a Reply

