Caramel Apple Bars

What could be more indicative of the fall than caramel apples?  For me, not much, so I decided to make these caramel apple bars from a Betty Crocker recipe I found.  Ever since I was little, I always loved caramel apples, especially the ones with nuts on top.  This bar is a nice little play on caramel apples and is simple and easy to make.  These bars are perfect to bring to a football game, a work event or a dinner party because they are easy to transport and tasty.  The only issue I had with these bars is that the oats haphazardly fall wherever they like, so they’re not the prettiest looking things, but they definitely taste wonderful.  The caramel oozes through the oats and you get nice little bits of apples spread out here and there.  I used some white, whole wheat flour to make them a little bit healthier (I can try right?).  I also added some cinnamon to the apples.

What food or dish is most indicative of the fall to you?

Ingredients:

  • cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter
  • 1/4 cup shortening
  • 1 cup white, whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 cup quick cooking oats
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 4 1/2 cup apples (I used Macoun, but Granny Smith or Northern Spys would be good)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 3 tbsp all-purpose flour
  • 1 8 oz bag caramels
Directions:
  1. Heat oven to 400ºF.
  2. Mix brown sugar, butter and shortening in large bowl.
  3. In another bowl, mix flour, oats, salt, and baking soda and all to brown sugar mix.
  4. Reserve 2 cups oat mixture and press remaining oat mixture in greased, 13 x 9 inch pan.
  5. Toss apples, cinnamon, and 3 tablespoons flour and spread over mixture in pan.
  6. Heat caramels over low heat, stirring occasionally, until melted and pour evenly over apples.
  7. Sprinkle with reserved oat mixture and press lightly.
  8. Bake 25 to 30 minutes or until topping is golden brown and apples are tender.
  9. For 36 bars, cut into 6 rows by 6 rows while warm. Store covered in refrigerator.
3 Comments

Filed under Baked Goods, Desserts

3 responses to “Caramel Apple Bars

  1. Caramel Apples are one of my favorite things about fall. I’ve been wanting to make something similar to this but in single servings… I bet I could do something like this in muffin tins!

  2. oooo I love ANY apple desserts!

Leave a Reply

