Lemon Ricotta Pancakes with Figs & Honey

Whole Foods grocery store was recently having a sale on fresh figs, so I decided to pick some up (thank you to my friend Beth for sharing this information with me!). Since I am a huge fan of breakfast-for-dinner, I decided to make lemon ricotta pancakes with fresh figs and honey last night.

Breakfast is by far my favorite meal of the day; I will eat breakfast for lunch or dinner. In fact, some of my co-workers and friends can attest to the fact that I often eat a bowl of cereal for lunch or for dinner (only if my husband is working late of course!). However, I’ve noticed that I’ve become a sort of picky breakfast eater as I’ve gotten older; I don’t like cream cheese very much, so I won’t eat it on bagels. I’ll most likely have margarine (yes, I know) or sugar-free jelly (yes, I know). I don’t like runny eggs; my scramble eggs have to be hard or I will probably not eat them. Hollandaise sauce? Forget it… I can’t stand it or the way it looks (what is wrong with me?). Lox? Just tried those two weeks ago for the first time and hated them (I’m not crazy… really!). Well, what I do love and probably will always love are pancakes. Pancakes are one of those hearty, comforting foods that make our mouths water and our bellies happy. These pancakes were absolutely amazing and definitely a pleasant dinner alternative!

What about you? Do you like having breakfast-for-dinner? Are there any breakfast foods that you just can’t stomach? Do you think I should give lox a second chance?

Ingredients:

  • 1 2/3 cup milk
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 cups pancake mix
  • 1 cup ricotta cheese
  • 1 tbsp fresh lemon zest
  • 1/3 cup honey
  • 1/3 water
  • 1 tbsp butter

Directions:

  1. Mix the milk, vanilla extract, and lemon zest and add pancake mixture stirring until lumpy.
  2. Stir the ricotta into the pancake mixture until lumpy.
  3. Heat a griddle over medium heat and add butter until melted.
  4. Spoon 1/4 cup of batter onto the griddle for each pancake. Cook until golden brown, about 3 minutes per side.
  5. Meanwhile, heat the water and honey in a sauce pan until honey softens up a bit.
  6. Slice the figs into quarters and place on top of the pancakes and finish with a drizzle of honey.
5 Comments

Filed under Baked Goods, Main Course

5 responses to “Lemon Ricotta Pancakes with Figs & Honey

  1. Winston

    While not a huge fan of breakfast for dinner, I saw this post and immediately wanted to whip out the Aunt Jemima. The pancakes look hearty enough to fill even my stomach and the figs and honey are a light, healthy touch. The prep time doesn’t seem to be a hindrance either, this may become my new standby for quick dinner!

    To answer your questions, I definitely think you should give lox another try. The important thing with lox is quality. Many delis and bagel shops serve inferior lox and you may have had a bad experience. A native New Yorker myself, my favorite breakfast is a big, doughy New York bagel stuffed with lox and cream cheese.

    • I think the quality of the lox I tried was pretty good, but it might be something that I need to try again especially the next time I’m in NYC. I had the same initial reaction to sushi and now am obsessed with it. Thanks for the feedback!

  2. Love Figs they are so beautiful! I love just putting a little bit of honey and bake them for a couple of mins.. mmmm delish!

  3. I looove adding ricotta to pancakes because it makes them so light and fluffy! And figs and honey are a match made in heaven. Delicious!

  4. Mmm, these sound delicious! Perfect for a weekend brunch 🙂

Leave a Reply

