Pumpkin Muffins w/Streusel Topping

My husband’s family was in town this past weekend, so I decided to make everyone some pumpkin muffins to munch on for breakfast.  I love these muffins because they are not only healthy, but delicious and seasonal as well.  If you want your muffins to be even healthier, add some flax seeds, omit the sugar and add honey, or omit the streusel topping.  I like the added texture and sweetness of the streusel topping, so I kept it.  I added some chocolate chips to half the batter as well to make it even tastier.  This recipe makes 12 regular-sized muffins, but you could also make 6 large-sized muffins to feed a smaller crowd.  This is one of my favorite pumpkin recipes that I make every year around this time.  Hope you enjoy!

What is your favorite pumpkin recipe?


Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup applesauce
  • 1 3/4 cup white, whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon

Streusel Topping:

  • 1/2 cup white, whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 2 tbsp butter, softened

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 and line with muffin cups.
  2. In a bowl, whisk together the sugar, pumpkin, eggs, and applesauce until smooth.
  3. In a separate bowl, mix the flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt, and cinnamon.
  4. Add the dry ingredients to the pumpkin mix and beat until smooth, about 2 minutes.
  5. In a separate bowl, mix flour, brown sugar, cinnamon, and butter until small, pea-sized crumbles form.
  6. With a cookie scoop, spoon the batter into the muffin cups.
  7. Sprinkle the streusel over the top.
  8. Bake for about 25 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

*Makes 12 muffins

4 Comments

Filed under Baked Goods

4 responses to “Pumpkin Muffins w/Streusel Topping

  1. Mom Kenyon

    These look delicious. I love pumpkin. Do you have a recipe for pumpkin coffee cake? I just made some pumpkin scones. They were different.

  2. Meghan McLees

    Kara,

    I have been following your blog for a while, and I must say, it . is. awesome. Seriously, you have done a great job with this! Everything you post looks delicious (these muffins are top on my Absolutely-Must-Make List) and your pictures are fantastic additions.

    I hope all is well and that married life is wonderful 🙂

    -Meghan

    • Meghan,

      Thank you so much!!! It means a lot. And also, congratulations to you as well! How are the wedding plans coming along? I see (via Facebook) that you found a church, so that is exciting! Hope you guys are having fun with all the planning and enjoying every minute. I hear of plans for a possible 10-year reunion this hear, so hopefully I will see you then. Thanks again!

      Kara

  3. I love the pumpkin decoration in the background of the second picture!! I also LOVE pumpkin everything… looking forward to experimenting with this one!

Leave a Reply

