Pumpkin Obsession Results in Pumpkin Soup


You’re not imagining things; all my blog posts have recently been pumpkin/squash-based recipes.  I can’t help it!  It’s October and perfect squash/pumpkin weather.  There’s also a few more logical reasons why I’ve been cooking with so much pumpkin and squash recently.  First, my mom’s friend cans her own pumpkin, and she gave me 2 quarts of it.  The day after Halloween she buys leftover pumpkins that no one wants and then cleans them and cans them, so obviously I was going to take advantage of this fresh, canned pumpkin.  Second, my mom told me about the possibility of a canned pumpkin shortage this season; I ran out and bought a huge 32 oz can of Libby pumpkin.  Third, I went to the Syracuse farmer’s market while visiting my parents and bought a 5lb spaghetti squash for $2 and a 2lb butternut squash for $1.  That is a great deal and definitely not one I’m going to pass up.

Since I can’t let this pumpkin go to waste, even though it is canned and can easily sit in my cool cupboard for another year, I made some pumpkin soup.  I decided I wanted to make my pumpkin soup a little thicker, more like a bisque, so I used less chicken stock and water than what the recipe called for.  After tasting it, I had to go back and add more salt and pepper.  But after seasoning it liberally, it tasted creamy and smooth.  I dipped some fresh Ciabatta bread in it.  Yum!

Here’s a list of what I’ve made this month with my pumpkin and squash:

Here’s a list of what I’m going to make with my pumpkin:

  • Pumpkin Whoopie Pies

What is your favorite pumpkin or squash recipe?  Is there something pumpkin/squash related that you’d like me to blog about?  Share your ideas with me… I always love to hear them!

Ingredients:

  • 3 tbsp butter
  • 1 white onion, diced
  • 2 carrots, diced
  • 1 tart apple, peeled and diced (Granny Smith)
  • 2 cups pumpkin
  • 1/3 cup dry white wine
  • 1 tbsp dry sage
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 2 1/2 cup chicken stock
  • salt & pepper to season

Directions:

  1. Melt butter in saute pan over medium heat. Add onion, carrots, and apple and cook 10 minutes.
  2. Stir in pumpkin, wine, sage, bay leaf, stock, salt and pepper and bring to a boil.
  3. Reduce heat to low and simmer partially covered for 20 minutes.
  4. Remove bay leaf and using an electric beater, puree soup until smooth.

 

6 Comments

Filed under Baked Goods, Soup & Salad

6 responses to “Pumpkin Obsession Results in Pumpkin Soup

  1. What a great idea about buying pumpkins the day after halloween. I will have to look into that next week!

  2. all my blog posts have been pumpkin based too! It’s getting to be a problem 🙂 Haven’t tried soup yet though!

  3. You’re so lucky to know someone who cans their own pumpkin. I was thinking about doing it this year but the time is already getting away from me.
    It could also be a disaster since I’ve never roasted pumpkin before.
    I bet the taste is amazing. The soup certainly looks great.

    • The taste is definitely different than the canned kind. It also looks very different too! My mom’s friend says it’s very strenuous work scooping all that pumpkin out. I definitely don’t have time to do it this year, but maybe one of these years I’ll get my act together!!!

  4. Umm I read your soup and MUST try then right as I hit comment I saw the post before – the cake I am now after lol! My goodness … glad you made it over to my blog!! haha

  5. Pingback: Herb & Gruyère Biscuits | Happy When Not Hungry

Leave a Reply

