Spicy Chicken & Pepper Stir Fry

My husband and I had been on a little break from chicken for a while—we just started to get sick of it.  As of late, we’ve been eating some fish here and there, pasta, and beef.  But I realized that there are so many different and unique ways to prepare chicken—I just had to find a few more recipes that we wouldn’t get sick of.  I remembered that I have a Chicken cookbook by W&S.  I searched through this cookbook and found a ton of delicious-looking recipes such as spicy chicken stir fry.  I adapted a few things from the original recipe, and this dish came out tasty and definitely a pleasant alternative to pasta and beef—also healthier too!

Don’t forget to purchase your tickets for the DC Metropolitan Cooking & Entertaining Show November 13-14!  Click here for more details.

What’s your favorite chicken recipe?  I’d love to hear it!

Ingredients:

  • 6 tbsp chicken stock
  • 2 tsp dark brown sugar
  • 1/2 tsp corn starch
  • vegetable oil
  • 1 large pepper (red or green), cut into thin strips
  • 1/2 yellow onion, diced
  • 2 jalapenos, seeded and cut into thin rounds
  • 2 cloves garlic, sliced thinly
  • 2-3 chicken breasts, sliced into thing strips
  • 1/2 cup sliced fresh basil
  • 1 cup jasmine rice

Directions:

  1. In a small bowl, whisk together the chicken stock, brown sugar, and cornstarch until sugar is dissolved. Set aside.
  2. In a wok or large frying pan, heat the vegetable oil over high heat. Add the pepper and onion and stir fry until soft, about 2-3 minutes.
  3. Add jalapenos and garlic and stir fry about 1 minute.
  4. Add the chicken strips and stir fry until chicken is no longer pink, about 3 minutes.
  5. Stir in the fresh basil and cook for about 1 minute.
  6. Re-whisk the sauce again and pour into the pan and cook until the liquid comes to a boil.
  7. Meanwhile, cook the jasmine rice according to directions.
  8. Plate the rice and serve the hot stir fry on top.
6 Comments

Filed under Main Course

6 responses to “Spicy Chicken & Pepper Stir Fry

  1. Mmmm..this looks really tasty! I love anything spicy. I will have to give this recipe a try! My husband and I eat lots of chicken too, my favorite is chicken tikka masala. 🙂

  2. Delicious! I don’t eat chicken anymore but my favorite way to prepare it was to coat it in flour, egg, and seasoned panko bread crumbs and then bake it. Tastes just like fried and stays really juicy and delicious but is healthy, too!

  3. this looks so yummy:) thank you for sharing this.

  4. I love williams sonoma and I love stir-fry, so this seems like a win 🙂

  5. I love stir frys. Something about the way all the flavors come together and everything still tastes so fresh! Ill have to add this one to the lineup!

Leave a Reply

