Sweet & Spicy Rubbed Salmon with Lentils & Dijon Mustard Vinaigrette

In an effort to eat less red meat and more lean proteins and seafood, I decided to purchase some salmon fillets for a nice mid-week meal.  Salmon is such a versatile fish that can be cooked multiple ways.  I sometimes forget I own a grill pan, so I decided to create a sweet and spicy rub and then grill my fillets.  What to serve my salmon with?  Well, the options are endless, but salmon with lentils du Puy is a popular French dish that I decided to do a spin-off of.  I made my lentils with a Dijon mustard vinaigrette.  They came out tender and delicious and were perfect underneath my sweet and spicy rubbed salmon!

What’s your favorite way to prepare salmon fillets and/or lentils?

Lentil Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup lentils
  • 1/2 small onion, chopped
  • 2 tbsp red-wine vinegar
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 tbsp grainy Dijon mustard
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 1/3 cup chopped fresh parsley
  • Sea salt and ground pepper for seasoning

Lentil Directions:

  1. Combine lentils and 2 1/2 cups water in a medium saucepan. Bring to a boil, reduce heat, and simmer, covered, 5 minutes.
  2. Add onion, cover, and continue cooking until lentils and onions are just tender, 15-25 minutes.
  3. Drain, reserving the cooking liquid and transfer lentils to a bowl.
  4. In another bowl, whisk 2 tbsp reserved cooking liquid with vinegar, oil, mustard, garlic, and parsley and season with salt and pepper. Toss the dressing with the lentil mixture.
  5. Serve salmon atop the lentils.

Salmon Rub Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsp dark brown sugar
  • 1 tbsp chili powder
  • 1 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/8 tsp ground black pepper
  • 4 salmon fillets
  • 1 tbsp olive oil

Directions:

  1. Coat a grill or grill pan with cooking spray and preheat over medium heat.
  2. While the grill is heating, combine the brown sugar, chili powder, cumin, salt, and pepper.
  3. Brush each fillet with the oil and then rub each fillet with the spice mixture, coating both sides.
  4. Grill the salmon, flesh side down, until charred, 4-5 minutes.
  5. Flip the salmon and cook another 5-6 minutes for medium doneness. For well done fish, cook another 1-2 minutes.
  6. Serve salmon over a bed of lentils.
6 Comments

Filed under Main Course, Side Dishes

6 responses to “Sweet & Spicy Rubbed Salmon with Lentils & Dijon Mustard Vinaigrette

  1. Mom Kenyon

    This looks delicious. I’ve never made a rub so I will definitely try this recipe. Have fun at the Metro Cooking Show. Can’t wait to hear about it.

  2. I love my grill pan! The only thing that stinks about it is cleaning it, but if I can get over that it’s worth every second it takes to scrub because you can get such great grill flavor inside!

  3. I love the idea of combining salmon and lentils–two of my favorites that I don’t usually put together. Thanks for sharing:)

  4. I love salmon but never thought to eat it with lentils. I think I need more lentils in my life.

  5. Alexandria

    I love the rub you used on this salmon! This could be versatile for so many other things! Thanks so much for sharing this 🙂

Leave a Reply

