DC Metro Cooking & Entertaining Show Recap

This past weekend I attended the DC Metropolitan Cooking & Entertaining Show as an official Foodbuzz Foodie Correspondent.  It was very cool – I even got my own press pass!  The main exhibit hall was huge and had numerous exhibitors giving away samples and tastings.  There were a ton of different exhibitors featuring homemade bbq sauces, cakes, whoopie pies, spice rubs, and various other food-related goodies.  Take a look at a few of my favorites!

Emily G’s Jam of Love

Holly’s Au Natural Oatmeal

Grama’s Best Apple Caviar

Wanna Hava Cookie Whoopie Pies

Beautiful cake (I can’t remember who made this!)

Rub Joe Meat Killer Coffee & Spice Rub

Gia Michael’s Gourmet Garbage

Bobby Flay

I watched Restaurant Eve’s Chef de Cuisine Jeremy Hoffman and Sommelier Tod Thrasher cook up beef wellington and make homemade mulled cider respectively.  There was also a Foodspring.com tasting contest; we tasted 15 different items that included marinades, sauces, ginger beer, curry ketchup, toffee, etc.  My vote went to an amazing sticky toffee pudding by the Sticky Toffee Pudding Company.  It was amazing, and I could have eaten about five more samples!  There were also Food Network celebrity events going on all weekend that included cooking demonstrations and book signings by Paula Deen, Bobby Flay, and Rachel Ray.  I was lucky enough to be at the show for Bobby Flay’s cooking demonstration.  I took some cool photos of Bobby Flay in action.  He’s exactly like he is on TV;  an extremely personable and cute Irishman with an affinity for Southwestern cuisine and a NY accent.

Overall, this was a great event that featured unique exhibitors and restaurateurs from all over the country. Be sure to check out the Metropolitan Cooking and Entertaining Show website for future locations and dates.  I’m happy to have been a Foodbuzz correspondent!

6 Comments

Filed under Misc.

6 responses to “DC Metro Cooking & Entertaining Show Recap

  1. That looks so fun! I’m sad I missed it. TOTALLY jealous you got to see Bobby Flay!!

  2. So fun! The tastings sound awesome!

  3. Now that looks like the kind of event I would love to attend! Great recap 🙂

  4. how fun! Sounds like something I would love to go to 🙂

  5. Wow, what a treat, rachael,paula AND bobby.
    love and miss u
    aunt karen xoxoxoxo

  6. How lucky are you??? Looks like you have a great time!

Leave a Reply

