Braised Brussel Sprouts with Bacon, Onions, Lemon & Thyme

I’m hosting Thanksgiving this year, and I love brussel sprouts, especially with bacon, so what better green vegetable to make as an accompaniment than this dish.  It’s delicious and is braised on top of the stove instead of baked in the oven, so there’s more room for Tom the turkey to cook!  The mix of bacon, onions, thyme, and lemon added to the brussel sprouts is amazing and will surely make your kitchen smell like goodness.  This dish is light, but packs a great flavor punch.  I was thinking about making a brussel sprout gratin, but with all the other casseroles and heavier side dishes, I decided this would be light and perfect.

What green vegetable dish are you making for Thanksgiving this year?

Ingredients:
  • 4 slices bacon or pancetta (about 1/2 cup), cut into 1/4-inch dice
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1/2 cup small-diced carrot (2 small)
  • 1/3 cup minced yellow onion
  • 1/8 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
  • 2 lb. Brussels sprouts, trimmed, cut lengthwise through the core into 1/4-inch-thick slices
  • Sea salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 1/2 cups chicken broth
  • 1 Tbsp dried thyme
  • 1 Tbsp unsalted butter
  • 1 tsp grated lemon zest

Directions:

  1. In a skillet over medium heat, cook the bacon in the olive oil, stirring frequently, until the bacon has rendered much of its fat and is nicely browned, 4-5 minutes.
  2. Increase the heat to medium high, stir in the carrots, onions, and red pepper flakes and cook to soften the vegetables, 2 minutes.
  3. Add the sprouts, season lightly with salt and pepper, stir to coat with the fat, and cook, stirring, until the sprouts wilt slightly, 3 minutes.
  4. Add the broth and thyme, cover with the lid slightly ajar, and adjust the heat to a lively simmer. Cook the sprouts until they’re just barely tender, about 6 minutes.
  5. Remove the lid, increase the heat to medium high and cook, stirring frequently, until all the liquid has evaporated and the sprouts are quite tender, about 3 minutes.
  6. Turn off the heat and stir in the butter and lemon zest. Season to taste with salt and pepper.
11 Comments

Filed under Side Dishes

11 responses to “Braised Brussel Sprouts with Bacon, Onions, Lemon & Thyme

  1. Oooooh yum. Good point about having more room in the oven! I never think about things like that. I actually bought a bag of brussels sprouts last night at the grocery store and I think I’m going to roast them with some asparagus as part of dinner tonight. YuM!

  2. These sound delicious! I may have to make these as a side for Thanksgiving!

  3. I freakin’ LOVE brussel sprouts! Great recipe! I’m making the ever-present green bean casserole for my mother-in-law. She thinks I’m a terrible cook.

  4. gourmetgadgetgal

    These look fantastic! I love pairing brussel sprouts with bacon. Maybe I can get my picky boys to try some if they have a little bacon flavor.

  5. i have never had brussel sprouts before, but this is definitely the recipe to try, looks and sound scrumptous!
    Oh to be at your house on Thanksgiving-hmmmmm hmmmm good stuff!
    love ya
    aunt karen

  6. oh great idea to cook with bacon love it have a wonderful thanksgiving

    love Rebecca

  7. I have a huge bag of brussel sprouts. i’ve never made them before so I’m nervous. I love your recipe and now I have a dish to make for Thanksgiving, yay.

  8. Pingback: Kara’s Cannoli Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

