7 Layer Bars

7 Layer Bars are my 2nd cookie/bar of my Cookie Countdown to Christmas.  These bars are not necessarily Christmas treats, but my mom has been making them at Christmastime for as long as I can remember.  They are awesome and are very easy to make – they are actually the easiest cookie I bake at Christmastime!  They’re also very travel friendly if you want to share with friends or co-workers.  I also only have 6 layers in my bars: butter, graham crackers, chocolate chips, butterscotch chips, sweetened condensed milk, and shredded coconut.  The 7th layer is usually walnuts, but since my hubby doesn’t like walnuts, I left them out.  You definitely won’t miss the walnuts, but if you want to add them it can’t hurt right?

Also, my giveaway is still going on until tomorrow, so register to win a free cookbook!!

Ingredients:

  • 1 stick unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs (about 6-7 full sheets)
  • 1 cup chocolate chips
  • 1 cup butterscotch chips
  • 1 1/2 cup shredded coconut
  • 1 can sweetened condensed milk

Directions:

  1. Melt butter in microwave and mix with graham cracker crumbs.
  2. Spread graham cracker crumbs on the bottom of a 13×9″ pan.
  3. Layer the chocolate chips over the graham cracker crumbs.
  4. Layer the butterscotch chips over the chocolate chips.
  5. Spread the condensed milk over the top.
  6. Sprinkle the top of condensed milk with shredded coconut.
  7. Bake for 25-30 minutes or until graham cracker crust is golden brown.
10 Comments

Filed under Baked Goods, Desserts

10 responses to “7 Layer Bars

  1. These sound fantastic! Thanks for sharing. Happy Friday!

  2. Oh YUM. Those look awesome. I love that its so easy to assemble these!

  3. Yum! I’m fan of baked recipes that don’t require whipping out my mixer!

  4. Mmm, 7 layers… These cookies look so easy to make, and the ingredient list is so straightforward. I love it!

  5. Love coconut, and this looks very good. These are very versatile and cannot wait to try. Thanks for sharing.

  6. I love this!! The ingredients are fairly simple and it looks fairly easy to make – bookmark!!

  7. Amy

    I always loved these bars as a kid! Yours sound wonderful :)! That bar in the photo is making me hungry!

  8. Oh my gosh that’s so funny you made these! I actually just made them over the weekend myself! The recipe is exactly the same- can’t go wrong with this dessert. Yours looks beautiful 🙂

  9. These look fantastic! I’m in a dessert craving mood lately 🙂

  10. Pingback: Cookie Countdown to Christmas Recap | Happy When Not Hungry

Leave a Reply

