Panettone

I’m happy to say that this is my last Christmas recipe for 2010!  It was a long run, but I’m tired and have to let my Kitchen Aid rest for a bit.  Panettone is an Italian Christmas bread that is filled with candied fruits and nuts.  I love to eat it sliced with some butter on top.  It’s also very good toasted as well.  My mom bought these wonderful Panettone liners for me from an Italian grocery store in Syracuse.  They’re great because you don’t have to grease them and they’re oven-safe; you just place the dough inside and bake right in the oven.  You can then serve it to your guests right inside this pretty little foil liner.

The recipe I used has been adapted from my Sweet Maria’s Big Baking Bible cookbook.  First, I used candied orange peel, craisins, and lemon zest.  My husband doesn’t like nuts, so I left those out.  The candied orange peel is actually a recipe that I tested for Leite’s Culinaria.  A few weeks ago, I received some exciting news that I had been selected to be one of Leite’s official recipe testers!  It’s a lot of fun recipe testing, and the candied orange peel was one of the recipes that I chose to test.  It’s a great recipe and you should definitely check it out!

Hope you guys have a wonderful Holiday!  Merry Christmas!!!

Ingredients:

  • 2 packages active dry yeast
  • 1 cup lukewarm water
  • 1 stick butter, melted and cooled
  • 4 eggs
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • zest of 1 lemon
  • 5-5 1/2 cups flour
  • 1/2 cup craisins
  • 1/2 cup candied orange peel (to view recipe please go to Leite’s Culinaria)
  • 1 tbsp butter, melted

Directions:

  1. Sprinkle yeast over water and set aside.
  2. In a stand mixer, beat butter, eggs, salt, and sugar.
  3. Using a wood spoon, add yeast and 4 cups flour and mix well.
  4. Using the hook attachment on your stand mixer, knead dough until not sticky, adding 1-1 1/2 cups flour.
  5. Knead in craisins and candied orange peel.  Add dough to a greased bowl.  Cover with plastic wrap and dish towels and allow to rise in a warm spot for 1 1/2-2 hours.
  6. Remove dough from bowl and knead on a floured work surface a few times and place in panettone mold or liner. (If you don’t have a liner or mold, you can line a deep cake pan with parchment paper that extends over the edges.)
  7. In a microwave-safe bowl, melt 1 tbsp butter.
  8. With a serrated knife, cut an “X” in the top of the dough and brush the melted butter over.
  9. Cover with plastic wrap and towels and allow to rise in a warm spot for 30-45 more minutes.
  10. Preheat oven to 425 degrees.
  11. Bake panettone for 10 minutes or until the top is golden.
  12. Turn oven down to 325 degrees and bake for 50-60 minutes or until brown.
  13. Allow to cool before serving or freeze for future use.

Yield:  One 10″ loaf

12 Comments

Filed under Baked Goods, Bread

12 responses to “Panettone

  1. Lucy

    The Panettone looks so professional. What a great site to go to for traditional Christmas baking!

  2. Nina

    You are amazing, not only does the recipes you post sound good, but you actually have the pictures to prove that they came out good. I’m sure they also taste good too! Just wanted to say thank you for all those wonderful Christmas recipes you shared with us and I would like to wish you and your family a very merry and happy coming New Year. It’s almost time for you to kick back and enjoy your treats.
    Nina

  3. Wow that bread turned out amazing Kara! I love the idea of a sweeter bread filled with candied fruit and a little crunch from the nuts. Yum!

  4. Your panettone is beautiful! My Oma used to get us one every year for Christmas! I just made my own candied peels recently and I never knew they could be so easy and so tasty! I hope you have a wonderful holiday 🙂 Heres to more baking in 2011!

  5. Mom Kenyon

    Great Job Kara!! The panettone looks amazing. All the recipes you have shared with us have been wonderful. Thank you!! Love you and can’t wait to see you all soon.

  6. never heard of thsi before, but it looks so pretty! Being a recipe tester does sound like a fun job!

  7. Tes

    Ummm that just looks so yummy! This kind of thing won’t last long in my house. It sounds delicious 🙂

  8. This is incredible. I have heard that panettone is quite complicated to carry out and you did it! It looks so professional!

  9. Love the baking liners! Your pannetone sounds so yummy!

  10. Pingback: Cookie Countdown to Christmas Recap | Happy When Not Hungry

Leave a Reply

