Pasta e Fagioli Soup

I love to make homemade soup especially when it’s cold and dreary outside.  This pasta e fagioli literally means “pasta and beans” in Italian and is the perfect balanced soup to make because it has vegetables proteins, and healthy carbohydrates.  This recipe is adapted from Giada De Laurentis, and I love it because it’s both hearty and satisfying.  Serve it with some warm crusty bread and you have the perfect weeknight meal!

I don’t know if I told you, but one of the gifts that my husband gave me for Christmas to go along with my new camera is this mini tripod.  It’s awesome!  My camera screws down on top of the tripod and allows me to tilt my camera any way I want.  The legs of the tripod are also pliable, so I can bend them in any direction.  I used this for the first time last night, and it was definitely much easier than what I’d been doing before!  The next thing I have to work on is my backdrop.  I have two pieces of white cardboard that I place on my table and behind my table, so I have a completely white backdrop.  My aunt was telling me about this really cool box that pops up and is all white, so you can place whatever you want to photograph inside it.  I’ve been trying to find this photograph box, but am not having any luck.

Photography is something I’m fairly new at and don’t know much about.  I’m also really regretting passing up photography class in high school for band (I played the flute and piccolo — don’t laugh!).

Do you have any food photography tips that you’d like to share?  Do you use a tripod?  What do you use for your backdrop?

Ingredients:

  • 1 tbsp fresh thyme
  • 1 tbsp fresh rosemary
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 yellow onion, diced
  • 4 slabs of bacon, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 5 3/4 cups chicken broth
  • 2 (14.5 ounce) cans red kidney beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 cup whole wheat elbow macaroni
  • Freshly ground black pepper
  • Pinch red pepper flakes
  • Parmesan cheese for sprinkling

Directions:

  1. Heat olive oil in a heavy large saucepan over medium heat and add the onion, bacon, and garlic and saute until the onion is tender, about 3 minutes.
  2. Add the broth, beans, and herbs. Cover and bring to a boil over high heat, then decrease the heat to medium and simmer until the vegetables are very tender, about 10 minutes.
  3. Puree 1 cup of the bean mixture in a blender until smooth.
  4. Before putting the puree back into the soup, add the macaroni and boil with the lid on until it is tender but still firm to the bite, about 8 minutes.
  5. Return the puree to the remaining soup and stir well.
  6. Season the soup with ground black pepper and red pepper flakes.
  7. Ladle the soup into bowls and sprinkle with some Parmesan.
10 Comments

Filed under Soup & Salad

10 responses to “Pasta e Fagioli Soup

  1. I love pasta e fagioli. It is so funny because my husband was just saying that I have not posted my pasta e fagioli recipe on my blog yet. It is one of his favorites. Your version looks great! Congrats on scoring a tripod! I don’t know what I would do without mine…I use it to take all my photos. 🙂

  2. One of my favorite soups! This bowl would definitely make me happy!

  3. This soup is right up my alley (minus the bacon) ;). I love making soups when its chilly outside too – – maybe ill make some tonight!

  4. That soup looks so warm and comforting.

  5. i am all about soup lately it is just the thing to have this season. thank you for sharing this:)

  6. Holy crap, I need one of those tripods, so cool! The soup sounds super hearty and warming – just like soup should be!

  7. I’ve been eyeing up those tripods for a while, I love it that it can be used on uneven surfaces! Great looking soup too!

  8. My mum has one of those camera tripods – I think they are great!!

    You soup looks fabulous too 🙂

  9. mmm i’ve always loved pasta e fagioli. so delicious and warming! 🙂 nice xmas present! i need one 🙂

  10. Pingback: Herb & Gruyère Biscuits | Happy When Not Hungry

Leave a Reply

