Homemade Tomato Soup

There has been a lot of sickness going around lately, and I, of course, was no exception to this.  This past week, I got a very bad cold and actually had to stay home from work one day.  I was not feeling well all week – very tired, lethargic, and weak.  I decided to start doing a little research on vitamins.  I take a women’s multivitamin, but I’ve heard that those vitamins don’t have enough vitamin B which is key to energy production among other things.

There are 8 essential B vitamins (i.e. B-1, B-2, B-6, B-12, Folic Acid, etc.), so I decided to purchase a Vitamin B-Complex that has a little bit of all of them.  I just started taking them, but I’m very curious to see within the next several days whether I feel better and more energized.  I will definitely keep you posted!

This past weekend I finally started to feel better only to have my hubby start feeling sick.  He started feeling sick Friday night and by Sunday morning, he spent the better part of his day off in bed.  Since he was not very hungry and didn’t want to eat anything too complex, I decided to make him some homemade tomato soup (no I did not slip any vitamin B into his soup although it did cross my mind!).  I adapted this soup from a Food Network recipe I found several weeks ago and have been wanting to try.  I de-frosted some of my Ciabatta bread to dip in the soup.  My husband enjoyed the soup and bread (even if he couldn’t smell either).  He is still on cold medicines and will hopefully feel better soon since his birthday is tomorrow, and I have a wonderful dinner planned for him (shhhh).

Do you take any vitamins or multivitamins to stay healthy?  If so, what works for you?

Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 yellow onion, peeled and roughly chopped
  • 2 carrots, peeled and chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 15-ounce can Cannellini beans, drained and rinsed
  • 4 cups crushed tomatoes
  • 2 1/2  cups chicken broth
  • 1/2 cup dry white wine
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 tbsp fresh thyme
  • 2 tbsp lemon zest
  • 1/4 teaspoon red pepper flakes
  • sea salt and ground pepper to season

Directions:

  1. In a large stock pot, heat the oil over medium-high heat. Add the onion, carrots, and garlic and cook until the vegetables are tender, about 4 minutes.
  2. Add the beans, tomatoes, broth, bay leaf, thyme, lemon zest, and red pepper flakes. Bring the soup to a boil over high heat, then reduce the heat to low and simmer for 30 minutes, covered.
  3. Remove the bay leaf and puree the soup with a hand blender.
  4. Season with salt and pepper.
18 Comments

Filed under Soup & Salad

18 responses to “Homemade Tomato Soup

  1. That tomato soup looks delicious! It looks creamy even though there’s no cream in it – probably from the cannelini beans. I take a multivitamin daily called Women’s Active, but no specialized ones.

  2. Sorry you were sick! Soup always make me feel better! … I am a big fan of vitamin C and zinc when I feel that I am about to get sick. I know that there is research on both sides of the debate, but it always does the trick for me!

  3. I love tomato soup and I have never made it before. Since we are expecting snow tomorrow this would be wonderful simmering on the stove. Thanks for the recipe!

    I take Vitamin D – the sunshine vitamin.

  4. Take vitamin D – Up to 5000 mg a day. You’ll never be sick again. 🙂

    Great soup – tomato soup is a fave in this house!

  5. homemade tomato soup just looks so much more satisfying than that other stuff in a can….
    – Even though they say it doesnt neccessarily work, i think airborne (vitamin C, zinc, +more) makes a difference so Idon’t get sick when Cal the Cow does.

  6. Yay for tomato soup! I really never ate it as a child, but I seriously can’t get enough of it – I’ll even eat the crappy stuff from a can! Yours looks so so so amazing I want to dive in.

  7. This tomato soup looks fabolous! I swear there is nothing better then tomato soup and a grilled cheese sandwich on a cold day. I have never tried making my own…I need to get on this one! 🙂

  8. There is nothing better than a warm bowl of soup when you’re not feeling well. This tomato soup looks delish! I only take a multivitamin each day, but I’m thinking I may need to step up on some others…

  9. The tomato soup looks yummy. I make tomato soup all the time, its my comfort food on cold winter nights.

  10. i absolutely love how gorgeous the color of this soup is!! hope you feel better soon. thank you for sharing this lovely recipe.

  11. I do love a big bowl of soup, especially tomato soup. I love the addition of Cannellini beans. I am just getting over a cold too and they are no fun. I hope your husband is feeling better so that he can enjoy his surprise dinner.

  12. I was just looking for a homemade tomato soup recipe! I’m so glad I found this one 🙂 I’m going to try my own hand at ciabatta bread as well I think! I eat adult gummy vitamins and work out almost everyday to stay healthy 🙂

  13. Amy

    I love that you have added cannelini beans to this, it sounds so warming and comforting!

  14. I love tomato soup and this version looks delightfully healthy. Adding beans is a fantastic way to thicken it up!

  15. Your soup looks delicious…and beautiful! I swear by EmergenC (it’s 1000mg of vit C in powder form), Vitamin D, and the best vitamin…exercise! I hope you’re feeling better.

Leave a Reply

