Kit Kat Blondies

I’ll be honest, I was bored at home and decided to bake something.  Sometimes I get a craving to bake, not necessarily to eat what I’ve baked, but just to bake.  Maybe that sounds crazy, but I think other food bloggers, especially bakers, might back me up on this; I love to bake so much that my passion for baking outweighs my sweet tooth.  I’ll bake so much that I don’t even want to eat my baked goods, just bake them.  This happens to me a lot, and I’m always trying to figure out whom to give my baked goods to.  My husband never had a sweet tooth before, but now he definitely does – he looks forward to my sweet treats more than I do!

So I found myself bored and looking at my W&S Cookies cookbook and decided to bake one of my favorites, Blondies.  I’ve told you guys before that I’m not a huge chocolate person, so brown sugar and butter is way more appealing to me than chocolate.  My hubby had some Kit Kats in the cupboard, so I decided to steal borrow them and bake up some Kit Kat blondies.  I crushed up the Kit Kats with a rolling pin, added them to the batter, and then sprinkled them on top.  Now I know I was just telling you guys I don’t always eat my baked goods, but that argument does not apply to Kit Kat blondies.  These babies were amazing – my hubby and I ate them all (Ok maybe we shared with my sister and brother-in-law), but we had the majority of them!  I was shocked at my ravaging behavior over these brownies.  There’s something about the brown sugar, butter, wafer, and chocolate (can’t believe I’m saying this!) combo that was just too scrumptious for me to keep my hands off of.  Definitely try this recipe… you will love it!


Ingredients:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter
  • 1 1/2 cups packed light brown sugar
  • 1 large egg, at room temperature
  • 1 large egg yolk, at room temperature
  • 1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 8 snack-size Kit Kat bars

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees and grease an 8″ square baking pan.
  2. In a small saucepan over medium heat, combine the butter and sugar and stir until the sugar has dissolved. Cook 1 minute longer and set aside to cool for 10 minutes.
  3. Unwrap Kit Kat bars, place in a Ziploc bag, and seal. With a rolling pin, roll over Kit Kat bars crushing them up into small pieces.  Set aside.
  4. Add the egg, egg yolk, and vanilla to cooled sugar mixture and stir to combine.
  5. Combine the flour and salt in another bowl and add to sugar mix. Stir until combined.
  6. Measure out 1/3 cup of Kit Kat pieces and set aside for topping. Fold remaining Kit Kat pieces into the batter.
  7. Pour the batter into the pan, spreading with a spatula to smooth.
  8. Sprinkle 1/3 cup of Kit Kat pieces over the batter.
  9. Bake for 25-35 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.
  10. Let cool completely before cutting into squares.
25 Comments

Filed under Baked Goods, Desserts

25 responses to “Kit Kat Blondies

  1. Tes

    My son will be so happy if I make this. He just love kit kat. Your blondies look really amazing 🙂

  2. These look so good! I did something similar once with Butterfingers in brownies. Those were great also. I guess anytime you add candy bars to baked goods it’s hard to go wrong.

  3. Very yummy looking – especially as blondies! I’ve been wanting to make kit-kat truffles but have been too lazy :P.

  4. this sounds so creative and addictive! i have this bookmarked now..thank you for sharing this and have a great day.

  5. I bake when I’m bored, too! What a nerd. hahaha 😉
    These blondies sound so yummy-good! And I LOVE Kit Kats! Great choice!

  6. Kit kats are my FAVORITE! I would rather eat a blondie than a brownie too, so these are perfect.

  7. Baking is a great way to relieve both stress and boredom. I try to give a lot of mine away because we just can’t finish it all. My husband does have a sweet tooth but he has just started training again so I try to mix in some relatively healthy baking too. Your blondies look so good. I think next time I will try crushing the kit kats too.

  8. What’s my favorite candy? Kit Kats. What do I pick out of my sons’ Halloween bags first? Kit Kats. Love this recipe!

  9. I could bake every day…and I would if I could find people to eat all of the stuff I would make. Those blondies sound amazing. What a great end to an already delicious candybar.

  10. I loveeeeee kitkat and if i had them in these blondies, i don’t think i would be able t0 stop myself from eating the entire batch…lol.

  11. YUM! My boyfriend is a huge kit kat fan. Looks like I found his Valentine’s day treat 🙂

  12. Those look delicious! I absolutely love kit kats, and I totally know what you mean by just getting the craving to bake and not necessarily eat what you bake. Happens to me all the time!

  13. Mmmm…I love kit kats! They have to be one of my favorite candy bars. I bet these blondies are scrumptious! 🙂

  14. I know so many people that would go nutso over these. This is a definite must try!!

  15. Woah those look amazing. I love Kit Kat bars! And its pretty amazing what you can do with a rolling pin and some candy… I used one ot break up pieces of candy cane for chocolate covered pretzels and they turned out SO good!

  16. I get that “I’m just in the mood to bake” feeling a lot too. I love what came out of yours! These look fantastic 🙂

  17. Mmm!! Kit Kat’s were always my favorite candy bar! And now I have an amazing way to reinvent them! Yum, thank you for this post!!
    <3Marea

  18. Pediatrician + Baker on the side :)

    Just made these for a second time since they were such a hit the first time! Thanks 🙂 Looking forward to trying your other recipes, including the mint oreo cheesecake cups!

Leave a Reply

