Lemon Macaroons


If you love coconut, you can’t go wrong with macaroons.  Macaroons pack so much coconut into such a small bite.  I love macaroons, but have never thought to make them until now.  I’m not sure why because macaroons are simple to bake, and they only have a few ingredients.  You can dip your macaroons in chocolate or you can add some citrus zest to give them a little flavor punch.  That’s what I did with mine — I added some fresh lemon zest to make my macaroons lemon and coconut flavor instead of just coconut.  I love adding fresh lemon zest because even a small teaspoon adds such a fresh, lemon flavor.  I made small-sized macaroons (about 1 tbsp each), but you could make bigger macaroons with a cookie scoop.  I’ve seen those puppies in the bakery and they look amazing!  I like to keep mine small and bite-sized because then I don’t feel as guilty eating a couple of them instead of splurging on 1 large-sized macaroon (my logic is totally flawed since eating several small ones is probably the same as eating one large one, but it makes me feel healthier spreading out my macaroon consumption).  Whether you like to eat baseball-sized macaroons or bite-sized ones, they are definitely one of the more healthy desserts to consume; macaroons have egg whites (which we all know are healthy and wonderful) and shredded coconut (which is fresh and delicious).  While they do have some granulated sugar, it’s a modest amount and as we all know, everything in moderation (whether this means several bite-sized macaroons or one, baseball-sized macaroon)!  Enjoy!

Also, please don’t forget to stop by Steph’s Bite By Bite on Monday, January 31st for her online bake sale!!!  Steph is running a marathon to help raise money for the Leukemia and Lymphoma Society.  Online bidding for a vast array of delicious goodies (including my Nutella & Raspberry Swirl Pound Cake) will begin on January 31.  Be sure to check out Steph’s online bake sale!

Ingredients: (adapted from Gourmet)

  • 4large egg whites
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • 2 tsp finely grated fresh lemon zest
  • 1/2 tsp pure vanilla extract
  • 1/8 tsp of salt
  • 3 cups sweetened flaked coconut

Directions:

  1. Put oven rack in middle position and preheat to 325°F.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  2. Stir together egg whites, sugar, zest, vanilla, and a pinch of salt until combined, then stir in coconut.
  3. Drop tablespoon-size mounds about 1 1/2 inches apart onto baking sheet.
  4. Bake until tops are pale golden in spots, 15 to 20 minutes, then carefully lift parchment with cookies from baking sheet and transfer to a rack to cool completely.
  5. Peel macaroons from parchment to serve.

Yield: 32 bite-sized cookies

16 Comments

Filed under Desserts

16 responses to “Lemon Macaroons

  1. I absolutely love coconut macaroons. They’re so easy to make and delicious. Yours look fantastic!

  2. I love and make macaroons occasionally, and lemon sounds like a great idea. I will try this recipe next time.

  3. Wow those really look delicious! I had no idea there was such a short ingredient list with macaroons either. Awesome!

  4. I love macaroons! I bet the addition of the lemon zest makes these irresistible! 🙂

  5. Amy

    Adding lemon to macaroons is a wonderful idea! These sound like they would have amazing flavor :)!

  6. Oh I love these little treats! I like that you added the lemon zest… that sounds even better!

  7. Liz @ Blog is the New Black

    I love macaroons- yum!

  8. I’ve never made homemade macaroons before, but these sound absolutely delicious! Love the hint of lemon with the zest!

  9. Ang

    I have never had a lemon macaroon. I’m so wanting this. Yummy

  10. I love lemon and I like coconut. They look heavenly!!

  11. Mom Kenyon

    I’ve made macaroons before but have never put in lemon or the zest. They look really delicious:)

  12. These look so lovely! I always thought that macaroons were crazy bad for you. When I look at the nutrition facts on the side of the box at Trader Joe’s, there is soo much saturated fat that I get a bit scared. Like, 75% of your daily saturated fat is in ONE cookie, and you know you’re going to eat two. I think coconut might actually be the culprit. But they do look delicious, and I like the idea of small bites instead of big ones.

  13. I like this idea of flavoring macaroons with lemon. I think it would really give them something special. Great idea. I hope you’ll be coming back to join me for this week’s Sweets for a Saturday.

  14. I bet the lemon adds such a nice flavor to the coconut. They look great.

Leave a Reply

