Peanut Butter Banana Bread

There are two foods that I think I’m addicted to: breakfast cereals (Raisin Bran, Kashi, Cinnamon Toast Crunch, etc.) and peanut butter sandwiches.  Ever since I was little, I’ve always loved peanut butter sandwiches with jelly, fluff and yes, bananas.  Everyday for lunch when I was little, my mom would make me some sort of peanut butter sandwich – I never got sick of it.  And today (I’m 28), I still bring peanut butter sandwiches for lunch (no, I don’t bring my lunch in a Rainbow Brite lunch box… but I used to!).  Because I love peanut butter and bananas so much, I decided to make this peanut butter and banana bread. I don’t know why I’ve never thought of adding peanut butter to banana bread before, but I recently made this loaf as a gift and decided to put a little twist on it.  The bread came out amazing!  I was worried that the banana might overpower the peanut butter or vice versa, but it was the perfect balance of the two.  The peanut butter glaze gave the bread an extra kick of flavor too.  Hope you guys enjoy this one!

Bread Ingredients:

  • 3 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 1/3 cup sour cream
  • 1 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 3 tablespoons butter, melted
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 1/2 cups flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon

Glaze Ingredients:

  • 1/3 cup powdered sugar
  • 1 tbsp milk
  • 1 tbsp creamy peanut butter
Directions:
  1. Preheat oven to 350°.
  2. In the bowl of a stand mixer, beat the bananas, sour cream, peanut butter, butter, and eggs on medium speed until combined.
  3. Add the sugars and beat until blended.
  4. In a separate bowl, combine the flour, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon and add to the banana mixture, beating until blended.
  5. Pour batter into a 9 x 5-inch loaf pan coated with cooking spray.
  6. Bake at 350 for 50-60 minutes or until a wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean.
  7. Remove from oven and cool 10 minutes in pan. Remove bread from pan and cool on a wire rack.
  8. After bread has cooled, combine the powdered sugar, milk, and 1 tbsp peanut butter with a whisk.  Drizzle glaze over bread.
23 Comments

Filed under Baked Goods, Bread

23 responses to “Peanut Butter Banana Bread

  1. Deeeelicious! And I have all of these ingredients! 🙂

  2. Looks delicious! I made this bread too a few months ago. I was lazy and left off the glaze but looking at how yours turned out I think I might do it again with the glaze. How can you ever turn down extra peanut butter?

  3. This sounds amazing! Yum!!

  4. This looks AMAZING!!! My favorite breakfast is toast with peanut butter and bananas…so this is something I NEED to try!

  5. This sounds so good! Can’t wait to try it out…maybe even subbing almond or sunflower seed butter…

  6. Peanut butter.. really adorable recipe 🙂 that combination of banana and peanut butter is always so good

  7. My husband loves pb, banana and honey sandwiches. I think this bread, drizzled with a little honey is going to make him smile!

  8. Wow what an awesome idea! This sounds amazing!

  9. GREAT! Idea! I always put peanut butter and bananas on my bread, why not make peanut butter banana bread!!!! 😀

  10. I think we’re both addicted to the same things!! I wish I had a HUGE slice of this bread right now!

  11. I’m totally on board with your peanut butter glaze! I had a rainbow brite lunch box too! 🙂

  12. Hahaha..I had to laugh when i read that you still pack a peanut butter sandwich for lunch. I do too, usually only when I have ran out of anything else, but still! 🙂 This bread looks delicious..I am a sucker for breakfast recipes, I have to give this one a try! 🙂

  13. I know it sounds weird… but I used to LOVE cinnamon toast crunch with dried cranberries and chocolate chips. No milk… just as a snack. Man… it’s so delicious!! It’s probably been 10 years since I’ve had it, but can remember the taste like it was yesterday

  14. I’m thinking of doing this with almond butter…It sounds delicious.

  15. Now I’m craving peanut butter and banana bread! This looks wonderful. Love the glaze on top!

  16. I used to live on peanut butter sandwiches when i was in grad school. You would think that after eating it every day, I would be bored of it but no! My love for PB sandwich still runs deep…lol. Your bread looks moist and full of deliciousness (I think i just made up that word…lol)

  17. They just go together so well, peanut butter and banana. What a great combination of flavors!!

  18. Pingback: Steph's Bite by Bite » Blog Archive » Online Bake Sale Preview

  19. Pingback: Balsamic Portobello Burgers | Happy When Not Hungry

Leave a Reply

