White Bean Dip & Toasted Rosemary Baguette

Many of you probably already know that I am a huge college basketball fan.  I was born and raised in Syracuse, NY, therefore, I am a die-hard Cuse basketball fan.  November-March is my absolute favorite time of the year because I get to watch my beloved Orangemen play the best sport ever.  Ok so now that you know I’m obsessed with college basketball, you should know that I can’t stand football.  I don’t like watching it, I don’t understand the rules, the games are too long, the season is too long, etc.  But I do love Super Bowl Sunday and the reason being is the food.  Super Bowl Sunday is an excuse to eat unhealthy, greasy finger foods with all your friends.  For that reason and that reason alone, I love this coming Sunday and decided to make this white bean dip with toasted baguette slices.  This recipe is simple to make, and it’s actually pretty healthy for you too.  I’ll be eating some of this dip on Saturday for Syracuse’s upcoming basketball game and then making a new batch to share with my friends on Super Bowl Sunday.  Hope you enjoy!

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 tsp dried sage
  • 1 tsp dried rosemary
  • Two 19-ounce cans cannellini beans, drained
  • 2 tbsp water
  • Half lemon, juiced
  • Sea salt and fresh cracked pepper to season
  • Dash of hot sauce
  • 1 Baguette or crusty bread, for dipping
  • 2 tbsp olive oil, plus more for drizzling
  • Dried rosemary for sprinkling

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 and spray a baking sheet with cooking spray.
  2. Slice baguette into 1 inch slices, brush olive oil on each side of slice, and place on baking sheet.  Sprinkle rosemary over top and bake until just toasted, about 5 minutes.
  3. Meanwhile, in a saute pan, heat 1/4 cup of the olive oil until shimmering. Add the garlic, sage and rosemary and cook over moderately high heat, stirring, until fragrant and the garlic is just beginning to brown, about 1 minute. Add the beans and toss to coat.
  4. Transfer the bean mix to a food processor. Add the water, lemon juice, hot sauce, salt, and pepper and process to a fairly smooth puree.
  5. Transfer the dip to a small serving bowl and drizzle with olive oil. Serve with toasted baguettes.
13 Comments

Filed under Appetizers

13 responses to “White Bean Dip & Toasted Rosemary Baguette

  1. This looks awesome- love that bowl!

  2. Funky bowl and nice healthy dip!

  3. This looks great, perfect for Superbowl Sunday. Here’s to hoping that Syracuse can get its groove back and start winning games again. I was holding my breath for the last few minutes of the UConn game!

  4. This sounds REALLY good. And the baguette is calling my name!

  5. This dip sounds fantastic! I love how with bean dips you can just throw everything in a blender and it turns into something delicious. I also love the use of herbs in your dip – yum!

  6. I love bean dip it’s my favourite dip. I mean I love all dips but the rosemary just makes it!! I don’t know anything about football either but any excuse to make dips and I’m in!!

  7. What a great appetizer for Superbowl Sunday! Yummy! Mmmm…I bet the rosemary baguette is delicious with this dip! 🙂

  8. I’ll be enjoying this too… thanks

  9. Amy

    I love using white beans in dip and hummus! They have such a delicate flavor, and the lemon in your dip is a nice addition!

  10. Looks tasty! This would be great for super bowl!

  11. Chef Bee

    Great for superbowl. I’m gonna try this one.

    Plan B

  12. Wow, that looks delish! I like that you’ve added rosemary and lemon…that’s yummy!

Leave a Reply

