Turkey & Rice Stuffed Green Peppers

Ok, I’ll admit it… I think I’m in love with my slow cooker.  It’s hard not to be since this little guy saves me so much time.  My new job’s hours are much earlier than my previous job, so I find that coming home and having dinner ready to go is the best feeling in the world.  Stuffed green peppers are such a versatile dish because you can stuff them with literally whatever you want.  I like to make my stuffed green peppers with a mix of long grain rice, ground turkey, and tomato sauce.  Then, I like to add some more veggies to the mix and spice them up a bit.  I normally just bake my stuffed green peppers in the oven, but since I’m trying this new thing where I use my slow cooker more, I decided to cook my stuffed peppers in the slow cooker!  The peppers came out tender, flavorful, and most importantly, they were a time saver!

What do you like to stuff your green peppers with?

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 4 green bell peppers, seeded and ribs removed
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 2 carrots, peeled and diced
  • 1 jalapeno, seeded and diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 cup long-grain rice (I used Jasmine)
  • 1 pound ground turkey
  • One 8-ounce can tomato sauce, reserve 1/2 cup
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp black pepper
  • 1/2 tsp cumin

Directions:

  1. Heat the olive oil in a large frying pan over medium heat, then add the onions jalapeno, and carrots and sauté until soft, about 5 minutes.
  2. Add the ground turkey to the mix and saute until brown.
  3. Add the garlic and cook for 1 minute, then add the rice and stir to mix.
  4. Add the tomato sauce (reserve 1/2 cup for later use) and 2 cups of water and season with salt, pepper, and cumin.
  5. Scoop the turkey and rice mix into each of the green peppers.
  6. Place 1 1/2 cups of water on the bottom of a slow cooker and place stuffed green peppers inside.  Spoon remaining tomato sauce over the tops of the peppers.  Cook on low for 6-8 hours or until green peppers are tender.
9 Comments

Filed under Main Course

9 responses to “Turkey & Rice Stuffed Green Peppers

  1. I haven’t had stuffed peppers in a long time! This is sounding really good to me and I have never thought to do them in the Crock Pot. So clever!!

  2. Norma

    This sounds really delicious! I must try it!

  3. Oh I haven’t had stuffed peppers since I was a kid! Those are so good, and they look beautiful! I love that you did them in the crock-pot! Must give these a try!

  4. I love stuffed peppers & tomatoes! They are such an easy lunch or dinner. I usually stuff mine with leftover risotto or paella, top with cheese & breadcrumbs and that’s it. I always make sure I make too much risottto so that I can have stuffed peppers for lunch the next day!!

  5. Would have never thought to do these in the crock pot! Yours look delicious and healthier than some I’ve seen. Great post! 🙂 Sending some buzz your way!

  6. MMmm this is food of my childhood! Love this stuff and your did fabulous job!!!

  7. mmmm they look so yummy good!! Stuffed peppers are a bi-weekly menu item in this house…we love ’em! My stuffing is similar to yours…I don’t use jalapeno or tomato sauce… I seal the top of the pepper with a thick round slice of tomato and the juices then flow into the stuffing while cooking…it’s really good.

  8. I can’t tell you how this reminds me of all the Italian parties when I was little. I can just smell the amazing aroma. Looks wonderful:)Happy long weekend to you!

Leave a Reply

