Pistachio Chocolate Bars

For my dad’s birthday, he requested something with pistachios.  Normally, my mom makes him a delicious pistachio cake, but this year we decided to make him something a little different as well as something fairly healthy since my mom is on Weight Watchers.  My sister, mom, and I decided to make him some pistachio chocolate bars.  We found several different recipes online and took bits and pieces from each one.  We wanted to make a bar that could be frozen with a graham cracker crumb base and pistachio pudding incorporated into it.  This bar is delicious because it has 5 layers: a graham cracker crumb base, a layer of chocolate, a layer of pistachio pudding, a layer of Cool Whip, and a layer of fresh chopped pistachios.  These bars are delicious and they’re pretty healthy too (we used low-fat pistachio pudding, low-fat graham crackers, and low-fat Cool Whip)!

Do you like pistachio-based desserts?  What are your favorites?

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups graham cracker crumbs
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 1 stick unsalted butter, melted
  • 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips, melted
  • 2 cups milk, plus 2-3 tbsp
  • 1 package instant pistachio pudding mix
  • 1 container (8 oz) of Cool Whip
  • 1/4 cup chopped pistachios

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Coat a 11 x 7-inch baking pan with cooking spray.
  2. In a bowl, mix graham cracker crumbs and sugar and stir in melted butter. Press crumb mixture onto bottom of pan and bake 8 minutes.  Allow to cool.
  3. In a microwave-safe bowl, melt chocolate chips and add 2-3 tbsp milk until smooth. Spread over crust and refrigerate until hard, about 30 minutes.
  4. Meanwhile, combine pistachio pudding mix with 2 cups milk and whisk until creamy and smooth, 2 minutes.  Refrigerate pudding 10-15 minutes or until set.
  5. Once chocolate has hardened, spread pudding evenly over top of chocolate.  Spread Cool Whip on top of pistachio pudding and sprinkle with crushed pistachio nuts.
  6. Freeze bars until hardened, about 2 hours.
18 Comments

Filed under Baked Goods, Desserts

18 responses to “Pistachio Chocolate Bars

  1. I just read the title of this post out loud to LLoyd and I think he squealed. He LOVES ‘stachios. 🙂

  2. Wow these look SO good Kara! I love that you used lower fat everything and it still looks so decadent and delicious!

  3. I am loving this dessert!!! Pistachios are so yummy in desserts! I NEED to make this! 🙂

  4. These look delicious! I love pistachios, but have never baked with them (aside from granola bars) before. They’re the best snack in my house…I need to start thinking outside that box now 🙂 Happy Birthday to your dad!

  5. I am yet again jealous of the cool stuff you get over there. Pistachio pudding!! I love chocolate & pistachios and I love them in rice dishes for that surprise delicious crunch with a sweet raisin!

  6. All layers look so nice together 🙂

  7. My grandfather is in LOVE with pistachios and this would be great to make for his birthday. Thanks for a great recipe…I will let you know how mine turn out.

  8. These bars sound amazing! I love the combination of chocolate & pistachio and that pistachio pudding layer looks so good, excellent!

  9. Oh my my my! I love these bars… all those yummylicious ingredients in there. Chocolate and pistachios – yummy wow!

  10. I’m totally making this for my sister-in-law, she loves pistachio! Great recipe, thanks for sharing!

  11. I love how pistachio treats are always to green 🙂 These look yummy, hope your dad enjoyed them!

  12. Delicious looking bars! Your dad is so lucky, I want one now:))

  13. Ang

    I can’t wait to make this! I grew up on something similar, but I think this one looks way better. Darn, I wish I had all the ingredients:(

  14. This dessert looks so tasty. Thank you very much for sharing!!

  15. I think it’s great you made something your Mom could enjoy as well. I like anything pistachio. My Mom makes a weight watchers dessert that uses pistachios and jello and whipped cream. It is really good and healthy! This sounds so good. I’ll definitely share it with her!

  16. vicvickvicky

    I am such a huge sucker for pistachio desserts! Pistachio macarons and ice cream are my favourite so far. 🙂 This sounds like everything a great frozen bar dessert should be.

Leave a Reply

