Hungarian Goulash


My mom has a very old and tattered cookbook from 1978 called Betty Crocker’s Cookbook.  This cookbook has been a staple in my mom’s kitchen and whenever I see it, it reminds me of my childhood.  Hungarian Goulash is a recipe from that cookbook that my mom has made for our family for as long as I can remember.  The page with the goulash recipe is even stained with food and spices from all the times my mom has made this dish.  It’s delicious with amazing and unique flavors.  You can serve the goulash over rice, over egg noodles, over pasta, etc.  While I was at home visiting my parents, my mom and I made this dish for dinner one night.  The flavors instantly reminded me of my childhood, trudging up our snow-covered driveway after school to instantly be greeted by the flavors of paprika and brown sugar.  Yum!

Do you have a recipe that instantly reminds you of your childhood whenever you smell it or taste it?

Ingredients:

  • 2 pounds stew beef
  • 1 yellow onion, diced
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 1/2 cups beef stock
  • 3/4 cup Ketchup
  • 2 tbsp Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 tbsp packed brown sugar
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp dried mustard
  • 2 tbsp corn starch
  • 2 tbsp water
  • Egg noodles or thin spaghetti
  • 1-2 tbsp fresh parsley, roughly chopped
  • 1 lb pasta or egg noodles

Directions:

  1. Heat olive oil in a large stock pot over medium-high heat, and brown beef, onion, and garlic.  Drain any excess juice.
  2. Meanwhile, mix beef stock, Ketchup, Worcestershire sauce, brown sugar, salt, paprika, and mustard with a wire whisk until smooth.
  3. Add sauce to beef mix and bring to a boil over medium-high heat.  Cover and simmer over low heat until beef is tender, about 2 1/2 hours.
  4. Mix corn starch and water in a small bowl and add to the beef goulash.  Bring beef mix back to a boil for 1 minute, stirring until thickened.
  5. Meanwhile, cook pasta according to directions and serve goulash over the top.
  6. Sprinkle with fresh parsley.

Adapted from Betty Crocker’s Cookbook (1978 edition)

15 Comments

Filed under Main Course

15 responses to “Hungarian Goulash

  1. Liss

    I love this dish! It’s one of my favorites!

  2. I have never had goulash before, this looks wonderful.
    My mother always made beef stroganoff when I was growing up. Whenever I eat it, it brings back wonderful childhood memories.

  3. Goulash is one of my favorite comfort foods. Your version looks great! Your pictures look great! 🙂

  4. Oh my goodness. Beef gulash as a sauce and beef gulash as a soup is one of my favorite food when I was growing up…You made it so wonderful, I can almost smell it!!!:)) Delish

  5. Oh the memories Goulash brings back to me… My grandma’s favorite food ever, and the stories I could share… Well they include her as a toddler eating an entire pot of this, and as a grandma sneaking down to the fridge at midnight fork in hand eating in front of the open fridge! Lol!

    Psst… You’ve been caught in a game of Tag! And you’re it!
    http://themarfarmfamily.blogspot.com/2011/02/tag-youre-it.html

  6. That looks wonderful Kara!

    Orange chicken was my mom’s signature dish. She would lightly dip it in flour and then sear it with OJ somehow. I don’t even know but it was incredible!

  7. Mom Kenyon

    It was fun cooking with my daughters. It brought back alot of wonderful memories. This is a great comfort food, especially where I live. It seems like winter is going on forever. Can’t wait until spring!!

  8. Gosh this looks great! Just what I have been craving while it’s so dang cold out. Thanks so much for the post and recipe!

    Have a great weekend!!

  9. Great old school recipe! I remember my Mom making this for us too!

  10. This looks wonderful and this dish reminds me of my childhood b/c my mom is Hungarian! I love making it too, but she really makes it the best!! Hope you have a wonderful weekend:)

  11. gingerbreadbagels

    Your goulash looks sooo good and comforting! Adobo reminds me of my childhood. 🙂

  12. I really love the look of this. Lots of colours and home comforts in a bowl makes for a very fulfilling meal!

  13. OH memories! I wish I could be sitting at my grandma’s table eating her goulash right now. Great post! – Katrina

  14. This sounds yummy! Here’s a funny: “goulash” at our house is hamburger cooked in tomato juice, then dumped over macaroni noodles. Not even close to real goulash but we love it!

  15. Oh I love Hungarian goulash and haven’t had it in years, it looks so good! I must make it very soon for my family!

Leave a Reply

