Caramelized Onion Dip

I’m sure I’ve mentioned this before, but my hubby loves salty things, and I love sweet things.  Do you remember that amazing game show called Supermarket Sweep?  I used to love that show!  I used to strategize what I’d do if I were on the show – I’d go for the big slabs of meat and racks of ribs first, then on to the baby diapers and baby formula, then maybe on to the bottles of medicines next.  Well, if my hubby and I were allowed to run around a grocery store and eat whatever we wanted, we’d go in opposite directions.  My hubby would longingly look at the meat section and wish he’d had a portable George Foreman grill with him.  After a few solemn moments of what could’ve been, he’d wander off to the potato chip aisle and settle on a bag of plain old tortilla chips.  I would obviously go to the candy aisle.  I’d grab several different types of candies and plop myself down to enjoy.  I’d have some Hot Tamales, Skittles, Sour Patch Kids, strawberry gummies, Twizzlers (black and red), and probably even some Good and Plentys.  My hubby would eventually get tired of tortilla chips and come to my aisle looking for Reeses Pieces.  I would never go to the potato chip aisle, but might venture over to the ice cream aisle to grab some vanilla-based ice creams with peanut butter.

Ok, so my point is that this caramelized onion dip is amazing, and I don’t even care for salty foods.  This dip is so simple with just a sour cream and cream cheese base, but caramelizing the onions makes all the difference in the world because it gives the dip such an incredible flavor.  So if you’re really not into salty snacks, you have to trust me and just try this dip.  Enjoy!

Ingredients:
  • 2 tbsp unsalted butter
  • 2 medium onions, halved and thinly sliced
  • 1 1/2 cups sour cream
  • 1/2 pound cream cheese, softened
  • 1 tbsp finely chopped parsley
  • 1/2 tsp onion powder
  • 1/2 tsp Worcestershire sauce
  • Salt and ground pepper for seasoning
  • Potato chips, for serving
Directions:
  1. In a large saute pan, melt the butter.  Add the onions and cook over medium heat, stirring occasionally, until golden, about 25 minutes.
  2. Add 2 tbsp of water and cook, stirring, until the water has evaporated, about 3 minutes. Let the onions cool slightly, about 15 minutes.
  3. Transfer the onions to a cutting board and coarsely chop. In a large bowl, mix the sour cream with the cream cheese, parsley, onion powder and Worcestershire sauce until smooth.
  4. Stir in the onions and season with salt and pepper.
  5. Serve at room temperature with potato chips.
23 Comments

Filed under Appetizers

23 responses to “Caramelized Onion Dip

  1. BF and i are just the same, he likes salty i like sweet
    I’m going to have to make this dip immediately
    Thanks for the great recipe! 🙂

  2. LOL – I loved that show as a kid!!! This sounds like a great recipe. And I’m weird like this but I just have to tell you that I am totally loving that orange plate!!!! ♥- Katrina

  3. Oh this sounds like something I would LOVE… Great photos, and I like that plate too! Gotta love the finds at Marshalls!

  4. hahaha I love your little tangent about Supermarket Sweep!!! I haven’t thought about that show in AGES but it used to be my favorite. I’d tag along with you for the candy!

  5. gingerbreadbagels

    That’s how my mama and I are. I prefer sweet and she loves salty. 🙂 I LOVE onion dip, love love love it! Your caramelized onion dip looks and sounds incredible. YUM!

  6. That’s so weird, I made caramelized onions yesterday to put on a puff pastry tart with some crumbled feta and I have some left over. Just you try and stop me making this dip, it sounds delish!!

  7. Nina

    Hi Kara,
    Looks like a nice and easy recipe to make. This is one dip I will definetely make for my next occasion. Thanks. And the plate looks freat too!

  8. This looks wonderful! So much better than the conventional onion dip!

  9. The recipe looks great. I will definitely try this.

  10. Hahaha I remember that show!!! I’d probably go to the makeup/shampoo aisle 😉 I’m such a sucker for beauty products!

  11. I’m a sucker for onion dip. This is a recipe I will have to try.

  12. The smell, alone, of caramelized onions make me weak at the knees. I’m utterly OBSESSED with them. I sometimes make them for dinner and just eat those 🙂 This does look AMAZING though!

  13. Kara, caramelized onion dip is one of my favorite snacks and this looks absolutely delish! You have a beautiful blog and I’m so glad to have found it. I’m looking forward to exploring your recipes and seeing more! 🙂

  14. Me and my husband are the same way..I love more salty and he has ultimate sweet tooth. Your onion dip sounds and looks so tasty! Love the photos!

  15. I love love love chips and dip. My supermarket sweep would involve a variety of chips in various form and flavors matched with every dip or spread I could find! This is definitely going to be something I have to try out soon.

  16. This sounds delicious! My hubby will love it! Bookmarked!

    Great blog; happy I found you!

    Mary xo
    Delightful Bitefuls

  17. Tes

    Ummm this sounds so good. I have never thought of onion dip before. This could be so perfect for the game night 🙂

  18. This looks so good! I love caramelized onions and would eat the whole bowl! I love sweet and salty;)

  19. This dip look so much better than the store bought ones. It also looks fairly easy to make…woohoo!
    Btw your orange plate is so cool! 😉

  20. I am a dip-y kinda gal and this one is right up my alley, I’m going to try this one. And I am really mad that SS is not on anymore, I would totally still watch it.

  21. Amy

    This dip sounds delicious! So much better than the storebought onion dip I experienced growing up ;)!

  22. Pingback: Caramelized Onion Tart with Feta and Thyme « Cook Eat Live Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

