Homemade Granola

I was trying to figure out what to say about homemade granola in my blog post tonight while I was at a kickboxing class.  There’s not really a lot to say about homemade granola – it’s delicious, it’s easy to make, you can add whatever dried fruits or nuts you want, and it’s economical.  Since I’ve already discussed the finer points of homemade granola, I thought, why not talk about kickboxing?  I’ve been to a lot of kickboxing classes before.  The last one I went to at my gym was not my favorite and I barely went, probably because the instructor reminded me of Sue Sylvester from Glee.  After not going to that class for a while, I decided to go back after I heard there was a new instructor.  The new instructor is great, and I’ve been enjoying her classes a lot!

Tonight, she actually made me laugh to myself because she was walking around the class while we were doing these squat things and said the following to me: “Come on get lower.  I know you’re tall, but….”  Haha I had to laugh to myself.  I’m 5’10, so yes, I’m tall, but no, I can’t get any lower.  This happens to me a lot in exercise classes – instructors will see my head bobbing above other ladies’ heads during a lunge or squat track, and I’ll get a polite reprimand.  It makes me laugh for several reasons:  1. My volleyball coach used to yell at me all the time to get low, to get my butt down, to get my butt down and get low, etc.  2. Since I’m not as low to the ground as the other ladies are, it must mean I’m not getting low enough – WRONG!  I just have legs for days and am the lowest I can possibly go.  Generally, I think most instructors notice when they have tall gals in their classes and take these things into consideration.  I myself am used to it by now, so never take it personally and try to get as low as I possibly can without pulling something or hurting myself!  Anyways, after tonight’s challenging kickboxing class, I came home and enjoyed a nice bowl of fresh fruit and yogurt topped with this delicious granola.  Enjoy!

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups oats
  • 1 cup craisins
  • 2/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1/3 cup sliced almonds
  • 1/3 cup shredded coconut
  • 1/3 cup dried dates
  • 1/3 cup water
  • 1/4 cup melted butter
  • 2 tbsp milk
  • 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.
  2. Spray a 13 x 9″ pan with cooking spray.
  3. Mix oats, craisins, sugar, almonds, coconut, and dates in a mixing bowl.  Add cinnamon and mix.
  4. Add water, melted butter, and milk and mix until thoroughly coated.
  5. Evenly spread granola in pan and bake 18-20 minutes or until golden brown.
13 Comments

Filed under Baked Goods

13 responses to “Homemade Granola

  1. Wow that granola looks AWESOME. My sister makes this olive oil granola and i’ve never tasted anything like it. So delicious.

  2. I keep telling myself to make granola and I have been looking for a good recipe. I just found it! Thanks. Love the kick-boxing story.

  3. Easy and delicious!!! Nothing better than homemade! Amazing photos too

  4. I would’ve been a little put off by a Sue Sylvester-type instructor too..lol. You should be in some of the classes I’ve been in lately – you’d feel right at home. I’m usually with all of the tall gals that run circles around me – makes me feel like a short and fat Ewok. However, I found if I position myself just right behind all of them – I can generally go unnoticed from the instructor as long as the girls aren’t too skinny…lol.
    I really love this Granola and I know quite a few people who would love this as a gift!! Beautiful pictures too

  5. I love homemade Granola, it’s one of my favorite things to make and since I’m the only one in my house who likes it I do package it up as gifts too! Yum!

  6. I have never tried to make home made granola, you make it look so easy! Lol about your tall girl issues at the gym, i’m one of the shorties who really does need to get lower 🙂

  7. Homemade granola is so great! I always have some granola bars hanging around because my husband likes to take them to work. I will have to give this recipe a try the addition of the dates sounds amazing! 🙂

  8. I am reading this as I am munching on corn flakes with sliced almonds… now I want the rest of what is in your bowl! That granola looks so good!

  9. A wonderfully delicious granola, sounds terrific with craizins and dates!

  10. I love homemade granola and we make a batch weekly. We all have our favorites, but when it becomes such a household staple it’s nice to change it up from time to time. I’m due to make a batch tomorrow and I will give yours a try. It looks fabulous. Sunday is my kitchen prep day and I look forward to the change.

  11. Your instructor sounds like my FAVORITE instructor at my gym! MY favorite teacher yells at us and really gets us moving. I LOVE it. I too am also tall, but no where as tell as my friend. My friend is 6’1″ and get yelled at all of the time because she cant get as low as the instructor who is literally on 5’1″! I am 5’9″ and I get low, but have more legs than anything else! 🙂

  12. This granola looks great! And I love that you used craisins instead of raisins! (And I love your pictures of this granola!)

  13. gingerbreadbagels

    Oh how I LOVE homemade granola, it’s so addicting. Love that you added dates to the granola. They’re one of my favorites. 🙂 You granola looks sooo good.

Leave a Reply

