Greek Pizza

My hubby can make some really great pizza.  He knows how to form the dough with his hands and how to bake the perfect crust.  I was very excited when he decided to make us this Greek pizza this past weekend.  I made the dough, but he did all the work forming it by rolling it around with his hands.  I tried doing that once and ended up putting two holes in the middle of the dough, so I always leave that up to him.  This pizza came out amazing!  The crust was perfect and the flavors were delicious.  The feta really made this pizza – the top of the feta turned golden brown and gave the cheese a wonderful flavor.  The tomatoes cooked long enough so that they were juicy and delicious while the sauteed spinach and onions gave another depth of flavor.  This dough recipe is awesome too because it makes enough to fit a 15 x 10″ baking sheet (if you want a thick crust) or an 18 x 13″ sheet (if you want a thin crust).  Hope you enjoy!


Ingredients:

  • 2 packages rapid rise yeast
  • 2 1/4 cups warm water (105-115 degrees)
  • 2 tsp sugar
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 5 cups all-purpose flour, plus extra for shaping
  • 1 tbsp sea salt
  • 2-3 tbsp olive oil, plus more for brushing dough
  • 1 small yellow onion, thinly sliced
  • 5 cups fresh spinach
  • 8 oz. Shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 2 tomatoes, sliced thinly
  • 4 oz. Feta cheese
  • 2 tbsp dried oregano
  • Fresh ground pepper and sea salt for sprinkling

Directions:

  1. In the bowl of a stand mixer, dissolve the yeast in the warm water and let stand until foamy, about 5 minutes.
  2. Add the sugar, oil, flour, and salt to the bowl.  With the hook attachment, knead the dough on low speed for about 8-10 minutes or until dough is elastic.
  3. Add extra flour is dough is not pulling away from the sides of the bowl, up to 1 cup.
  4. Form the dough into a ball, put in a lightly oiled bowl, and cover with kitchen towels.  Allow to rise in a draft-free spot for about 30 minutes.
  5. Spray a 15 x 10″ baking sheet with cooking spray and preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  6. Remove dough from bowl and lightly dust with flour.  Working with your hands, spread dough out until it fits in the baking sheet.
  7. In a saute pan, heat 2-3 tbsp olive oil over medium heat and add onions.  Cook for 4-5 minutes or until onions become soft.  Add spinach leaves and cook until spinach begins to wilt down.  Remove from heat.
  8. Brush dough with olive oil until moist and cover with mozzarella cheese.
  9. Spread onions and spinach evenly over cheese, then add tomato slices.  Spread feta cheese on top of tomato slices and sprinkle oregano over the top.
  10. Bake pizza until crust is golden brown, about 20-25 minutes.
  11. Allow to cook before slicing with pizza cutter.


22 Comments

Filed under Main Course

22 responses to “Greek Pizza

  1. I love it right away..look colorful, delicious, and so pretty!

  2. I love Greek pizza and this look wonderful. Thanks so much for the recipe!

  3. Ang

    I could gobble this entire pizza up. I love Greek inspired food. I have this terrible addiction for katamala olives so I might have to put a few of those on this pizza too. I’m so inspired for this weeks menu. Thanks Brandie:)

  4. Ang

    Okay I’m such a dork. I just called you Brandie:/ I know your name is Kara. I need to call it a night:)

  5. This looks amazing! I have not had Greek pizza in so long.. yum!

  6. Ivy

    Your pizza looks amazing and love all the ingredients in it.

  7. I am determined to make a decent pizza crust, mine always turn out like pastry, weird! Loving the greek twist too, maybe this will be THE ONE!

  8. Looks like you got a really gorgeous crust on that pizza! The ingredient combo sounds awesome too…

  9. Mom Kenyon

    This pizza looks delicious. I can’t wait to visit so Dan can make this for me.
    Love it!!

  10. Kara, this looks positively delicious! I love all the fresh flavors you used, and that feta cheese is just the cherry on top! What a wonderful dish. Thanks for sharing!

  11. Love the idea of Greek pizza with feta & oregano, very yummy!

  12. I love Greek anything so, this is perfect! I made pizza this weekend, too! I’ll need to learn how to make dough by hand but, it was still super tasty, just like yours 🙂 My happy pictures are up on my website, haha.

  13. vicvickvicky

    Fresh made pizza base AND feta, I feel like I need this right now. So glad you shared this recipe! Now i just need my boyfriend to learn to make that dough.

  14. My husband is the pizza maker at our house too. I always fight with the dough until he comes in to take over 🙂 I love your take on pizza here…we will definitely have to try it!

  15. Gorgeous pizza!!! I love feta and have two containers in my fridge.Think I will try your Greek Pizza recipe:)

  16. The feta sounds amazing! I love the bright colors too!

  17. Pizza with feta sounds really good.

  18. Why, why, why make me so hungry at 9 pm??? That’s exactly right up my alley. I’ll be making this tomorrow.

    Cheers!

  19. I am always on the look out for a great crust/pizza recipe. This is going on my list. Thanks!

  20. This looks so good. I bet it would be great as an appetizer. Thanks for sharing!

  21. Greek pizza is one of my all time favorites, yours looks delicious!

Leave a Reply

