Coconut, Butterscotch & Chocolate Chip Cookies

Sometimes after a long day of work, I come home craving something sweet – a warm, chewy cookie with a tall glass of milk is just the thing that will curb my sweet tooth.  In particular, these coconut, butterscotch, and chocolate chip cookies are amazing and are sure to make you smile after a long day.  Not only are there semi-sweet chocolate chips in these cookies, but there’s my favorite, white chocolate chips as well.  White chocolate goes very nicely with coconut and butterscotch goes nicely with coconut and chocolate, so basically, all the flavors in these cookies go very nicely with each other.  Did I mention that besides pizza, my hubby also likes to bake cookies sometimes?  Well he does, and sometimes he surprises me with these treats.  Enjoy!

Do you have a sweet tooth?  If so, what do you tend to crave after a long day of work?

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 6 tbsp granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup butterscotch chips
  • 3/4 cup white chocolate chips
  • 3/4 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1/2 cup shredded coconut

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper.
  2. In a bowl, sift together the flour, baking soda and salt and set aside.
  3. In the bowl of a stand mixer, beat the butter, brown sugar and granulated sugar until smooth.
  4. Add the egg and vanilla and beat until well blended.
  5. With a wooden spoon, add the dry ingredients and stir just until incorporated.
  6. Stir in the butterscotch chips, chocolate chips, and coconut.
  7. Drop the dough by heaping tablespoons onto the prepared baking sheets, spacing the cookies 2″ apart.
  8. Bake the cookies, 1 sheet at a time, until lightly browned, about 10-13 minutes.
  9. Let the cookies cool on the baking sheets for 5 minutes, then transfer them to wire racks to cool completely.
  10. Store in an airtight container at room temperature for up to 3 days.

*Yield: about 30 cookies

22 Comments

Filed under Baked Goods, Desserts

22 responses to “Coconut, Butterscotch & Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Talk about a loaded cookie. This sounds like a wonderful combination of flavors.

  2. Wow those cookies sound phenomenal Kara!! I love coconut, butterscotch, AND chocolate chips though I’ve never had them together… good job Dan!

  3. These sound SO good! 🙂 I love coconut- made some cupcakes over the weekend with it!

  4. You know I love coconut – and these cookies look like an excellent use of it! And straight out of the oven…I bet they’re heavenly.

  5. Oh wow..all those amazing flavors in one cookie! Love your photos too..
    awesome post!

  6. Oh these sound and look very delicious 🙂

  7. Now you’re just showing off with your variety of chips in there! Why not throw in some pb chips as well just to really rub it in! Meanwhile I am here, chopping my own chocolate, you have no idea!!

  8. I bet the butterscotch made these so amazing! Mmmmmm, I wish I had some of these cookies right now!

  9. I am always craving something sweet! These look delicious!

  10. Tes

    Those cookies look really delicious. I love the coconut-butterscotch-chocolate chip combo. It sounds super delicious.

  11. Yum, yum! Loving this coconut and 3 chip combo! 🙂

  12. Great combination of flavors in these cookies.

  13. These cookies are calling my name! I can hear them now. They want to come to my house for a visit 😉 DELISH!

  14. All wrapped up and ready to gift! Now if only I cound be the reciever of such loveliness!!! ♥- Katrina

  15. yum! That three-chip combo just stole my heart ❤

  16. I love cookie recipes. This looks great and I like that it has butterscotch chips. You can’t find many recipes with them.

  17. Yes, I have a sweet tooth ALL the time 🙂 Especially after I eat something savory – I automatically want something sweet right afterwards.
    And these would definitely do the trick!!

  18. I love coconut and white chocolate. My husband on the other hand dislikes the texture. Strongly. But I am a cookie girl through and through. It’s my one big weakness. I would love to try these but I’ll have to sub out the coconut or I’ll be forced to eat them myself and that would not be a good thing. What would you recommend?

    • Do you and your hubby like nuts? You could always include some walnuts or even my favs, hazelnuts. Another option would be dried fruit. I love dried blueberries and they go really well with chocolate especially white chocolate. Those would be my recommendations. You can really substitute anything you like!

  19. The Teenage Taste

    I love cookies packed with lots of add-ins! Butterscotch chips are the best!

  20. Pingback: Coconut, Butterscotch & Chocolate Chip Cookies «

  21. Pingback: Coconut, Butterscotch & Chocolate Chip Cookies | Living, Laughing & Losing

Leave a Reply

