Slow Cooked Sausages, Apples & Sauerkraut in Lager



My mom has come down to visit, and I’m so excited to have some quality time with her this weekend.  We don’t have any particular plans for the weekend; my mom has been to most of the museums and monuments in D.C. and since I live in Northern, VA, but commute to D.C. for work everyday, I am not complaining about staying close to home for the weekend.  The one thing I did tell my mom was that I have a couple baking projects this weekend.  She gladly said she would help me and since she’s the master and taught me everything I know, I happily accepted.  Before we start baking a few goodies this weekend, I wanted to share this wonderful slow cooker recipe with you.

I love sauerkraut on sausages, but I honestly don’t make it that much.  I don’t know why – I think I just forget about it?!  So now I’m giving some well-deserved limelight to sauerkraut.  The obvious accompaniment to sauerkraut is sausages, so I decided to make some sausages, apples, and sauerkraut slow cooked in lager.  Since my mom is on Weight Watchers (successfully I might add!), I decided to make apple smoked chicken sausages.   You can use whatever type of sausages you like – next time I’ll use bratwursts since my hubby loves them.  Allowing the sausages, sauerkraut, and apples to cook all day in lager makes for one flavorful and amazing meal.  I served them inside whole wheat hoagie rolls, but you don’t need to serve them in anything since they’re that good by themselves!

Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 6 links sausages/bratwursts
  • 4-5 slices smoked bacon, cooked and diced
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 2 medium carrots, peeled and diced
  • 1 can sauerkraut (24 oz.)
  • 2 medium apples, peeled and diced
  • 2 bottles lager, such as Pilsner
  • 1 cup chicken broth
  • 3 bay leaves
  • sea salt to season
  • 1/2 tsp whole black peppercorns

Directions:

  1. In a large saute pan, heat vegetable oil over medium heat and cook bacon until brown and crispy.  Remove bacon (keep oil) and allow to drain on paper towels.  Once cool, cut into small pieces.
  2. To the bacon oil, add onion and carrots and cook until soft, about 6 minutes.  Remove carrots and onions and set aside with bacon.
  3. Add sausages to pan and cook until brown.
  4. To the slow cooker, add the sausages, carrots, onion and bacon.  Dice up the apples and add to slow cooker along with sauerkraut, beer, chicken stock, bay leafs, salt, and peppercorns.  Cook on low for 6-8 hours.
  5. Serve alone or inside hoagie rolls.
10 Comments

Filed under Main Course

10 responses to “Slow Cooked Sausages, Apples & Sauerkraut in Lager

  1. You know I always forget about sauerkraut too! I haven’t made anything in my slow cooker in far too long. I have to get on that!

  2. Sounds like a terrific meal! The sausages must be perfectly delicious prepared in the slow cooker along with apples & sauerkraut!

  3. Gorgeous! I really love sauerkraut, with sausages – brats – corned beef – I can even eat it straight from the can! This sounds super yummy and easy…great job!

  4. That sounds amazingly delicious. The apples in it must give it a wonderful flavor! 🙂

  5. Tes

    Ohhh I love that it sounds so comforting 🙂 I have never tried cooking savory dish with apple before. This is so exciting 🙂

  6. Love that you put the apples in the sauerkraut. Looks awesome!

  7. I’m not the biggest fan of sauerkraut, but my dad loves it and he is coming out to visit here shortly! Definitely a winning recipe for him 🙂 Thanks!

  8. Mmmm, I have to make this. I absolutely love saurkraut and sausages… I could drown in that combination and eat it every day if possible !

  9. I make my own sauerkraut (the wife isn’t impressed) and love finding new things to do with it. Thanks.

  10. Mom Kenyon

    After a long day of driving from Upstate NY I was served this wonderful meal. It was absolutely delicious, the apples really complimented the sauerkraut and sausage. It was a wonderful weekend with my loving family. Wish I didn’t have to leave!!

Leave a Reply

