Yoga & Southwestern Egg Wrap


Since I’ve been waking up at 6am for my new job and getting home around 5:30 every night, I’m usually quite exhausted after the long day.  My mom always asks me how I find the time or have the energy to go to the gym after work.  The one thing that I always tell myself to get my butt to the gym is that no matter how tired I am right now, after my workout I will feel like a million bucks.  And it always works because I always feel amazing and energized after getting a great workout in.  I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned it before, but I’m in a volleyball league on Monday nights.  Recently, I’ve been noticing that I’m overextending my shoulder when I go to hit the ball.  It leaves my shoulder very sore and tender afterwards.  Combining that with zumba, kickboxing, and the occasional cardio workout (treadmill/elliptical), my muscles are generally very tight.

Then ironically, about a week ago, my hubby mentioned that he wants to start doing yoga.  This is crazy, but I’ve never gone to a yoga class before.  I have a yoga DVD that I’ve done before at home, but never at a class, and I’m not really sure why.  I know there are different types of yoga and they all give you different results.  What I’m looking for is yoga that will stretch out my muscles and make me feel relaxed and refreshed.  My hubby is looking for a yoga class that will relax him and let him clear his mind.  I definitely don’t think bikram is for us; I get motion sickness on the metro sometimes, so I would probably not fare well in 100 degree heat.  My hubby complains that the DC metro area doesn’t get enough snow (he’s a snow bunny), so I don’t think he’d fare well in the heat either.  Do you have any suggestions for what type of yoga we should try?

There’s a yoga class at the gym, so I think this Saturday we’re going to check it out.  I have no idea what type of yoga it is because the schedule just says Yoga (beginner and intermediate).  I’m kind of nervous about being out of my element.  We’re not the most coordinated duo, and I know our family members would pay big bucks to watch us in action while we do chatarungas and downward doggies.  With that aside however, I’m always up for pushing myself and trying a new workout, so I’ll keep you posted on how it turns out!

While eggs don’t have anything to do with yoga, I wanted to share with you a great breakfast-for-dinner option – southwestern egg wrap.  These wraps are so easy to make and such a wonderful alternative to nights when you don’t feel like doing anything or when someone feels like going for a walk.

The 10 minutes that it takes to throw this wrap together are well worth it.  This baby is packed with proteins and delicious veggies.  Hope you enjoy and looking forward to your yoga suggestions!

Ingredients:

  • 4 eggs (I used 2 egg whites and 2 yolks)
  • 4 tbsp milk
  • 1 small jalapeno pepper, diced
  • 1/2 yellow onion, diced
  • 1/4 cup Monterey jack cheese, shredded
  • sea salt and fresh ground pepper
  • 1/2 avocado, sliced
  • 1/4 cup fresh salsa
  • 1 tsp fresh cilantro, minced
  • 1 whole wheat tortillas

Directions:

  1. In a small mixing bowl, combine eggs and milk with a fork and set aside.
  2. Spray a non-stick skillet with cooking spray and heat over medium heat.  Add jalapeno and onion to skillet and saute until soft, 5 minutes.
  3. Add a pinch of sea salt to the egg mixture and pour into the pan over the jalapeno and onion stirring slowly with a spatula. Once eggs begin to harden, use the spatula to fold the eggs over themselves.
  4. Add the Monterey jack cheese and cook until melts.  Once there isn’t any more liquid in the pan, remove egg mix from the heat spread along the middle of the tortilla in a vertical line.
  5. Top with avocado slices and fresh salsa.  Sprinkle with cilantro and fresh ground pepper.
  6. Fold the bottom part of the tortilla in and while holding that edge folded in, begin to roll tortilla (like a burrito).
  7. Enjoy while hot!
13 Comments

Filed under Breakfast

13 responses to “Yoga & Southwestern Egg Wrap

  1. Yum! I love making omelets and was recently thinking that I should change things up and make breakfast wraps with a little kick… glad I stumbled upon this recipe! Unfortunately, I don’t motivate myself to workout quite like you do… I try often, but fail. I love workout DVDs though, so if it were me I would opt for a private class all to myself in the comfort of my own home. 🙂

  2. This is one of my favourite quick lunch/suppers too! With regards to the yoga I don’t know about the different types but Roxan @ kitchenmeditation is a bit of a yoga junkie so I would ask her. I tried yoga for a few weeks last summer and found the classes to be really relaxing and good for stretching out muscles. The only thing was that the instructor would give us a huge hug individually at the end of each session which really freaked me out!! This undid all the destressing in a few uncomfortable seconds, but that’s just me!!

    • Thanks Natalie! I will def check out Kitchen Meditation. Hahaha! That’s so gross especially if the instructor was all sweaty and stinky. I definitely would have been really weirded out as well. Hopefully I will not get any sweaty hugs tomorrow after yoga unless they’re from my hubby!

  3. Oh I am crazy about wraps, especially ones with eggs. Love experimenting with different recipes/ideas. This sounds like a great combination !

  4. Mom Kenyon

    The egg wrap looks really good. I need to change up my breakfasts and I know Dad would love it as well. I love the pics of my “little boy.” I miss him!! Yoga sounds like a different alternative to destress your daily routine.

  5. I love breakfast-f0r-dinner ideas. This sounds like a great meal. Sorry, no yoga ideas…I have not ever ventured further than a “yoga for dummies” video.

  6. I am with you…workouts are amazing even after a long day … nothing makes me feel better and more energized than a workout, no matter how long or short it was. Yoga and I have never hung out…couldn’t help you there. 🙂

    Yum Yum @ the wrap… beautiful treat for breakfast!

  7. This sounds great! I love anything with avocado in it! 🙂

  8. Tes

    Ummm this sounds so yummy and comforting 🙂 It sounds like a quick healthy bite 🙂

  9. Yum! These wraps look like an awesome start to the day 🙂 As for yoga, I’ve just gotten into it as well. I live in a fairly small town, so my best access to a class is at our local YMCA. The class I go to is titled “beginner/intermediate” as well, and as an uncoordinated and unflexible person, I can definitely admit to loving it! It’s challenging enough without making me want to flat out give hope. Hope you and your husband find a class you both can enjoy!

  10. Woahh YUM!! I love a good wrap especially with EGG in it!!

  11. Amy

    These egg wraps sound delicious! I would love one right now for a light lunch! Your dog is very cute :)!

  12. Pingback: Sausage & Tortellini Soup | Happy When Not Hungry

Leave a Reply

