Sausage & Tortellini Soup

I hope you had a wonderful weekend!  My weekend was great, but always seems too short. 🙂  In my previous post, I talked about trying a yoga class.  Well I tried a beginner/intermediate yoga class at my gym and it was great!  I will definitely be going to a yoga class once a week now.  I felt great after and can definitely see why so many people love yoga.  Because I was feeling so great, I decided to buy some fresh whole wheat tortellini and make Sausage & Tortellini Soup.  I love this soup because it’s not heavy and since spring is here (and since I was feeling so great from yoga), I thought it was all too appropriate for the beautiful weather we’ve been having.  I love the flavors in this soup especially the addition of the fresh lemon juice – it reinforces that spring is finally here and also makes the soup taste great!  Hope you had a great weekend – what do you like to do to relax and/or feel better?

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 3 Italian sausages, casings removed
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1 can (15 oz) cannellini beans
  • 1 can (15 oz) diced tomatoes, with juice
  • 3 1/2 cups chicken broth
  • 1/2 cup white wine (I used Pinot Grigio)
  • 9 oz tortellini, fresh or frozen
  • 4 cups fresh spinach
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • Sea salt and fresh ground pepper
  • Parmesan cheese for sprinkling

Directions:

  1. In a large stock pot, heat the olive oil over medium-high heat.  Add the sausages and break up with a wooden spoon.  Cook until brown.
  2. Add the onions to the pan and cook until soft, 5 minutes.
  3. Add in the garlic and cook, stirring, 1 minute.
  4. Add the beans, tomatoes, and oregano and stir to combine.  Add the chicken stock, wine, and lemon juice and bring to a boil.
  5. Add the tortellini to the pot and cook according to the package directions, about 5 minutes.  One minute before the tortellini is fully cooked, stir in the spinach.
  6. Remove from the heat.  Season with salt and pepper to taste.  Serve warm with grated Parmesan as desired.
16 Comments

Filed under Pasta, Soup & Salad

16 responses to “Sausage & Tortellini Soup

  1. This looks great. I make a simpler version of this that has just tortellini, tomatoes and spinach. I love the addition of sausage – that really makes everything better.

    I’m glad you liked the yoga class. I have two ways to relieve stress. One is baking but to balance that out I also like to run. 🙂

    Go SU!

  2. A fabulous and hearty soup – perfect for a post yoga session or anytime you want a light, but satisfying meal.

  3. Ang

    Mmmm, so fresh. This sounds warm and delish. I happen to love yoga. I think I tend to feel better after yoga than I do after a hard cardio work out. Hmm, something I like to do to relax. That’s easy……cook:)

  4. I actually just started attending a yoga class too! I feel like my body has been really stiff, so I had to do something, and yoga seems like a good choice. I must feel relaxed because I almost pass out in the class at the end, every single time… Anyway, your dish looks great. It’s rainy and cold weather in SF, this will be a good dinner this week! Thanks for sharing!

  5. This soup looks soooo perfect for spring! I can’t wait to give it a try! 🙂

  6. Looks great! I’ll have to give this a try!

  7. This looks like a wonderfully delicious and healthy soup, love the tortellini! Yoga class sounds like fun!

  8. Tes

    This soup sounds really fresh and delicious 🙂 It looks so goood 🙂

  9. This soup looks awesome Kara! Great pictures, too.

  10. gingerbreadbagels

    This soup looks sooo good, I love the addition of spinach in the soup. YUM! 🙂

  11. I teach a class called BodyFlow and I love it, a great way to relax! You’ve got me thinking of soups now, a nice bright brothy soup for spring, wonderful!

  12. We ate something similiar to this in Chicago and it was wonderful! Now I have a recipe on hand! Thanks!

  13. This sounds like my kinda soup 🙂 I started doing yoga about a year ago and now I do it almost 3 times a week- I LOVE it! I do it during my lunch break

  14. It’s breakfast time and all I want is this soup! Love the colors… looks fab!!

    Mary xx
    Delightful Bitefuls

  15. Love the addition of sausage in your Tortellini soup. So easy to make, light and delicious.

Leave a Reply

