Peanut Butter Pretzel Rice Krispy Treats

I hadn’t had a rice Krispy treat in a long time and then I gradually began seeing them all over my fellow food bloggers’ sites.  They’re so delicious and so simple to make, so I decided I had to get involved in all the fun.  I decided to make peanut butter pretzel rice Krispy treats.  Peanut butter and pretzels are an amazing combo – they even sell these little beauties at the store.  Trader Joe’s has some awesome ones that once you bite into the pretzel, you’re instantly greeted by smooth, creamy peanut butter.  I decided that I’d add some peanut butter chips and crushed pretzels to my treats.  These babies were so simple to make and so delicious.  Once you bite down, you instantly taste the peanut butter chips along with some salty pretzel bites… yum!  Definitely give these treats a try.  They’re so simple and there are endless ways to add your own touch to them.  Enjoy!

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1 bag (10 oz) marshmallows
  • 5 cups Rice Krispies
  • 1 cup peanut butter chips
  • 1 cup crushed pretzels

Directions:

  1. Coat a 13 x 9 baking pan with spray.
  2. In a large bowl, combine peanut butter chips, pretzels, and rice krispies.
  3. In a small saucepan, melt the butter over low heat.
  4. Add the marshmallows and cook over low heat stirring constantly until melted.
  5. Remove from the heat and pour over cereal.
  6. Stir with a wooden spoon until coated and press into pan.
  7. Once cereal treats have cooled, cut into 24 squares and serve.
9 Comments

Filed under Desserts

9 responses to “Peanut Butter Pretzel Rice Krispy Treats

  1. This combines three of my favorite things – peanut butter, pretzels and marshmallows. Now I’m drooling. 😉

  2. Ooh. Peanut butter and marshmallow, together at last. I might sneak in a few chocolate chips into this and see what happens…

  3. Whoa! These have my name ALL over them!! Super yummy!

  4. Oh man, I wish I had one right now! Rice krispy treats are so yummy, I can only imagine how delicious they are with peanut butter! 🙂

  5. I love peanut butter and pretzels together. You’re right, those Trader Joe’s pretzels are amazing. What a fun, easy way to fancy up some rice krispies.

  6. this would be exponentially better than marshmallow treats. looks so great! are you picky about rice krispy brands?

  7. Those look good! I too just created a new rice krispy recipe, haven’t blogged it though!

  8. What a wonderful combination of flavors. New twist on an old favorite!

Leave a Reply

