Cappellini with Fresh Mozzarella & Basil

This recipe for Cappellini with Fresh Mozzarella & Basil is such a simple, but delicious dish – I love the fresh flavors of the mozzarella, olive oil, tomatoes, and basil.  The key to making this dish taste exceptional is using the best fresh ingredients you have on hand.  I love fresh mozzarella b/c I love the texture and the taste.  Adding the mozzarella on top of the hot pasta slightly melts the cheese, but not all the way, so you still have the wonderful cubes of cheese.  I love cubes of cheese.  I could polish off an entire cheese tray with no problem. 🙂  The addition of the fresh basil leaves also makes the dish taste fresh and adds some nice color.  This dish is perfect on a weeknight after a busy day since it has very few ingredients and a short prep time.  Buon Appetito!

Ingredients:

  • 1 box whole wheat cappellini
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 2 cloves minced garlic
  • 1 can (15 oz) diced tomatoes
  • 8 ounces fresh mozzarella, cut into small cubes
  • 8 large fresh basil leaves, coarsely chopped
  • Sea salt and fresh ground pepper for sprinkling

Directions:

  1. In a large stock pot, bring water to a boil.  Add pasta and cook until tender, about 8 minutes.
  2. Meanwhile, in a large saute pan, heat the olive oil over medium heat. Add the onion and cook until soft, about 5 minutes.  Add the garlic and cook for 1 minute.
  3. Add the tomatoes and saute until heated through, about 2 minutes. Add the cooked pasta and remove the pan from the heat.
  4. Add the cheese and basil, and toss to coat. Season with salt and pepper and serve immediately.

*Adapted from Everyday Italian


14 Comments

Filed under Main Course, Pasta

14 responses to “Cappellini with Fresh Mozzarella & Basil

  1. Mmmm! My kind of pasta dish!

  2. It looks so yummy and colorful 🙂 love it!

  3. Your Cappellini has Spring written all over it. Looks amazing!!!

  4. This is wonderful! Quick, easy and it looks delicious. I am bookmarking this one! 🙂

  5. I think I know what I’m going to make for dinner!!! I absolutely love this! I might add just a tad bit more garlic 🙂
    Beautiful dish, as always!

  6. Love it! I make a dish similar to this with fusilli. And, like Kate, with mounds of garlic. Your gorgeous pics and the idea of healthing it up with whole wheat pasta are getting me pumped for summer…

  7. Mom Kenyon

    This looks delicious!! I look the chunks of cheese also because like mother like daughter I could eat a whole tray of cheese too:)

  8. Liz

    This is my favorite combination of flavors! I can’t wait till the summer tomatoes are here 🙂

    I have a question for you…do you mind e-mailing me at lizzy.do at gmail.com? Thanks!

  9. Simple Italian dishes are always the best!! I love your pictures 🙂

  10. It doesn’t get better than this! It’s definitely my kind of food!! 🙂

  11. Wonderful classic flavors! I love fresh mozzarella chunks in dishes. So delicious!

  12. This looks so delicious. A nice salad, crusty bread YUM!

  13. gingerbreadbagels

    This is my absolute favorite pasta! Your pasta looks just beautiful and so flavorful. Now I’m craving this and need to make it asap! 🙂

  14. Amy

    This is one of my favorite flavor combinations when it comes to savory food in the summer…it always makes me think of warmer days with the tomatoes and basil!

Leave a Reply

