Slow Cooker Peanut & Chicken Curry


My aunt M gave us some fresh ginger last weekend, and I knew right away that I was going to make some sort of curry.  I tend to use the same flavor combinations in my everyday cooking (olive oil, garlic, onions, red pepper flakes, more garlic, etc.), so I decided to switch things up a bit.  Since I had a can of Trader Joe’s lite coconut milk as well as some brand new Trader Joe’s curry powder, I decided the perfect dish to make would be a slow cooked peanut chicken curry.  I’ve talked to you guys before about how difficult it can be for me to come home after a long day and find the motivation to cook a fabulous dinner.

My slow cooker is one of my best friends in the kitchen.  I prepare everything the night before and the next morning, I can just throw everything in my slow cooker and dash to work.  I used chicken thighs because I like their flavor better than chicken breasts.  I always get chicken thighs with the bone-in and then just cut the skin off to make them healthier.  I browned the chicken thighs for a few minutes as well as the carrots, onions, celery, garlic and fresh ginger.  I placed all of that in one large tupperware container and let sit in the refrigerator overnight.  The next morning, I dumped that into the bottom of my slow cooker and added the fresh snap peas on top.  I then whisked the curry powder, chicken stock, and peanut butter until smooth.  I added that on top of everything.  In a separate bowl, I whisked the coconut milk and the corn starch and added that in last.  I allowed to cook on low for 8 hours.  I love my slow cooker because I have a timer, so I can set that for however many hours or minutes I want and after it cooks for the allotted time, it turns the heat to warm.  Since I’m gone for 11 hours every day, this works well for me because when I get home the meal is still warm, and all I have to do is prepare the rice.

What are your favorite slow cooker meals?  Please share!  I’m always looking for new slow cooker recipes to try!

Ingredients:

  • 3 tbsp canola oil
  • 6-8 chicken thighs (I take the skin off, but keep the bone in)
  • 2 carrots, finely diced
  • 2 celery stalks, finely diced
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 2 tbsp peeled and grated fresh ginger
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 cup snow peas
  • 2 tsp curry powder
  • 3 cups chicken stock
  • 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 2 tbsp cornstarch
  • 1 1/2 cups Jasmine rice
  • 1/3 cup fresh snap peas for garnish

Directions:

  1. In a skillet, heat the olive oil over medium heat.  Add the chicken thighs and cook for several minutes until brown.  Remove from pan and set aside.
  2. In the same skillet, add the carrots, celery, and onion and cook until soft, about 5 minutes.  Add the fresh ginger and garlic and cook an additional 1 minute.
  3. Place chicken thighs on the bottom of your slow cooker and place carrots, celery, onions, ginger, and garlic on top.  Add the snow peas.
  4. In a separate bowl, add the chicken stock, curry powder, peanut butter, salt, and pepper and whisk until smooth.  Add to the slow cooker.
  5. In another bowl, add the cornstarch to the coconut milk and whisk until smooth.  Add to the slow cooker.
  6. Cook for 6 hours on low or until curry has thickened and chicken is cooked.
  7. In a small saucepan, cook Jasmine rice according to directions.
  8. Serve chicken curry over rice.
  9. Sprinkle fresh snap peas over curry for some added crunch.

*Adapted from William Sonoma Chicken

16 Comments

Filed under Main Course

16 responses to “Slow Cooker Peanut & Chicken Curry

  1. Slow cooker meal and curry…I am sold! Yummy! 🙂

  2. Curry in the crock pot?!? Girl, that is AWESOME!!! I love Chicken Curry, but it’s usually so time consuming, can’t wait to try this!

  3. What a beautiful dish. I made Chicken Curry yesterday too, but my picture didn’t turn out this good. Looks awesome! I wish I own a slow cooker. I didn’t know Trader Joe’s has coconut milk! Thanks for the info. 🙂

  4. I LOVE slow cooker recipes! This looks amazing except for the chicken thigh part, my allegiance is to chicken breasts only 🙂

  5. I think I have a can of TJ’s light coconut milk sitting in my cupboard right now. I was trying to come up with something to do with it and this looks perfect. My husband doesn’t usually get home until almost 8 so we’re always looking for a meal that can get to the table quick. This looks delicious, thanks so much for posting it.

  6. I love a good peanut curry and yours looks so good! Perfect that it’s in the slow cooker, who has time to cook?

  7. Liz

    Oooh, I’m always tempted by frseh ginger…it imparts such a fabulous flavor! Your chicken curry is beautiful…love it flanked by the pea pods 🙂

  8. I MUST use my slow-cooker. I think it would really break up my usual boring routine of the same thing. I get home late to eat. But I’m never sure what to make. Not really a big soup fan and I find the vegetables get too soft in the cooker all day…

    But this looks good! I love snow peas too 🙂

  9. Pingback: Lindsay Loves #5 | The Lean Green Bean

  10. I wish that bowl was sitting in front of me! That looks fantastic… I love everything that you’ve put in it, and I really really love the fact that you made it in the slow cooker! Awesome!

  11. I haven’t really been using a slow cooker but looking at your delicious recipe makes me rethink this!

  12. This looks so good – I can’t wait to give it a try.

    I know it sounds old school and a little dorky, but we love to whip up a three-meat chili in our slow cooker. It’s so simple, so comforting and so easy to heat up later in the week when you don’t want to do any cooking ’cause you’re just waiting for the weekend.

    Thanks so much for this recipe – absolutely fantastic!

  13. I make Country Captain’s Chicken (which is very curry like) in the crockpot, but for some reason I haven’t made the connection to making actual curry in it, too. This post was like an aha moment! Thanks.

  14. Slow cooker meals are my favorite, especially during busy weeks. This looks delicious…it has been so long since I’ve had a peanut sauce! Definitely holding onto the recipe for one night soon 🙂 Thank you!

  15. I am always looking for new slow cooker recipes so this looks great!

  16. Pingback: Kara’s Cannoli Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

