Steak Tacos with Mango Salsa

For our birthdays this year, my hubby’s grandparents sent us some Omaha Steaks.  We’ve received these tasty steaks before and absolutely love them!  Since my hubby and I both love Mexican food, we decided to grill our filet mignons and make steak tacos with them.  I had a mango that was starting to go soft as well, so I decided to make fresh mango salsa.  This mango salsa is especially delicious for any grilled meats including fish and pork.  This meal was incredible and so easy to prepare – it was the perfect way to end a great weekend!

Do you have a favorite salsa that you like to make?  Do share!



Ingredients:

  • 4 filet mignons
  • sea salt and pepper to season
  • 1 green pepper, cut into strips
  • 1 onion, sliced
  • 1 mango, peeled and diced
  • 1/2 red onion, finely diced
  • 1 jalapeno, finely diced
  • Juice of 1 lime
  • 2 tbsp fresh cilantro, chopped
  • 1/2 tsp cumin
  • sea salt and pepper to season
  • Whole wheat tortillas
  • Monterrey Jack cheese for sprinkling

Directions:

  1. Heat a grill pan over medium-high heat.
  2. Season both sides of filet mignons with salt and pepper and place on top of hot grill pan.  Cook steaks on each side for 4 minutes or until desired doneness and set aside.
  3. Add pepper and onions to grill pan and allow to grill until soft, about 5 minutes.
  4. In a small bow, mix mango, red onion, jalapeno and cilantro.  Add lime juice and mix to combine.  Season with cumin, sea salt, and pepper.
  5. After allowing cooked steaks to sit, slice into thin pieces.
  6. Assemble tortillas with steak, onions, and peppers and top with mango salsa and shredded cheese.
27 Comments

Filed under Main Course

27 responses to “Steak Tacos with Mango Salsa

  1. Delicious and wonderful recipe..yummy! I love your photos too!

  2. This is a beautiful dish! Yum! What a great use for a fabulous birthday gift!

  3. Incredibly tempting and flavorful steak tacos, you have stepped it “up a notch” with the fabulous mango salsa…… Great dish

  4. mmmmm that looks really good! Your steak is perfectly cooked… delish!
    I am not crazy about Mexican food, but steak and pork tacos are awesome! I’ve been seeing this mango salsa popping up at a lot of places… I need to give it a try.

  5. Mango salsa…Mmmm…love it! I bet it tastes incredible with the steak tacos!

  6. This looks amazing! I love the combination of ingredients in the salsa. Must try!

  7. Tes

    Ohhh wow mango salsa! This is so exciting! It’s mango season here and I can’t wait to try this 🙂

  8. Hungry again after viewing this – looks so tasty – I want some!

  9. Yuuuuum. Mango salsa is one of my favorites! Two weeks ago I made a big batch of mango salasa and a big batch of tomatillo salsa, and I was in heaven all week!

  10. What great grandparents to send you some steaks! I love mango salsa, and I’d venture to say it might be one of my favorites. I like that yours is so simple so you can still taste the mango.

  11. Liss

    Wow! These look amazing! Can’t wait to try making mango salsa!

  12. Yumm. I’ll take 3 of these…with a chilled Corona and lime on the side.

  13. Kara, this sounds perfect, the weather is getting so nice I can’t wait to get outside and sit by the pool with these.
    -Gina-

  14. I adore mango and am thrilled to have another way to enjoy it!

  15. Everything about this looks delicious. I don’t really like my steak plain; this salsa is the perfect topping. Thanks for the recipe.

  16. Amy

    Beautiful photos, and your tacos sound so light and fresh! Love that salsa!

  17. Hmm! Mango Salsa! It got my whole attention. Looks so delicious. Kids would love this and I should make this steak tacos soon!

  18. gingerbreadbagels

    I LOVE mango salsa, it’s my absolute favorite! These steak tacos look amazing and I love the bright color that the mango salsa adds to the dish. I have to make these, they look so good!

  19. Mango salsa compliments the steak tacos so nicely, wonderful refreshing and delightful flavors!

  20. Oh my gracious. What a GREAT combination!! Very nice!

  21. These steak tacos look fantastic! Maybe dinner tonight….

  22. Pingback: Thai Quinoa w/Mango | Happy When Not Hungry

  23. These look so good! I love mango salsa!

Leave a Reply

