Strawberry Banana Muffins

You might remember that I went strawberry picking last year with my mom and sister; I love fresh strawberries and I love picking them fresh because then I can freeze them, bake with them, eat them, etc.  Unfortunately, strawberry season is not here yet, hopefully in the beginning of June, but since these strawberries looked delicious at the store and were on sale, I decided to buy a few pints and bake with them.  I had some bananas that were starting to go rotten, so I decided to make strawberry banana muffins.  I love baking with fresh strawberries rather than frozen ones, because frozen ones always tend to smear and turn whatever you’re baking red.  I like the fresh ones because they taste awesome and because they don’t smear – you just get little bursts of red all over your muffins.  These muffins are beautiful and are the perfect way to get you in the mood for strawberry season!


Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, melted
  • 3/4 cup light brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs, lightly beaten
  • 1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 2 large ripe bananas, mashed (about 1 cup)
  • 1 cup fresh strawberries (cut into bite sized pieces)
  • 1 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Position rack in center of oven.  Grease 18 cup muffin pan with vegetable spray.
  2. In a small saucepan melt the butter over low heat.  Set aside.
  3. In a medium sized bowl mix together the brown sugar, eggs, vanilla extract and mashed banana. Add the melted butter to the brown sugar mixture and stir to combine.
  4. In another large bowl combine the flour, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt. Gently fold in the berries, making sure they are coated with flour. This helps to prevent the berries from sinking during baking.
  5. Add the dry ingredients to the wet ingredients and stir until the ingredients are just combined. Do not over mix the batter or tough muffins will result.
  6. Divide the batter evenly among the 12 muffin cups, using an ice cream scoop. Place in the oven and bake until a tester inserted in the center of a muffin comes out clean, 20-25 minutes. Transfer to a wire rack to cool.

*Makes 18 regular sized muffins.

27 Comments

Filed under Baked Goods, Breakfast

27 responses to “Strawberry Banana Muffins

  1. The strawberries have been fabulous so far this season.. I would love to use my next carton in something like these muffins 🙂

  2. These look heavenly! It is strawberry season down here in Florida. My family would love these!!

  3. Lora @cakeduchess

    I love strawberry picking. These muffins look so good! I will try them when I’m back to baking:)

  4. When I lived in Ohio I used to go strawberry picking with my mom and sister every summer…it was one of my favorite activities! There is nothing better than the promise of tons of strawberries in the freezer…except maybe these muffins! What a delicious combination of fruits 🙂

  5. Yum! These strawberry banana muffins are just so perfect. I just finished dinner and really hope that I could eat one of your muffins for dessert! By the way, I LOVE your plate…..so cute!!!!! It’s perfect for these yummy muffins!

  6. I’ve never combined strawberries and bananas while baking, but it sounds wonderful. I can’t wait to try your recipe.

  7. I just did a copy/paste… these are going to be on my breakfast table this weekend. I love them!! Bananas + strawberries in a muffin… heavenly!

  8. Those strawberry pieces look so nice in muffins 🙂 and Im sure they taste great too

  9. What a fresh, great muffin. I love fresh strawberries and had loads of fun strawberry picking last year too (along with a lot of other fruit!). I picked up strawberries at the grocery store a few weeks ago, I couldn’t resist the bastion of warm weather. I blame the re-emergence of the sun after a long winter.

  10. GIRL, these look absolutely to die for. I love delicious muffins like this!

  11. Mom Kenyon

    These look really delicious plus I love the dish!! Can’t wait to try them when we come down.

  12. Why have I never thought to add fresh strawberries to banana baked goods? Brilliant!

  13. The muffins with strawberries sound wonderful, a nice morning treat!

  14. So glad that it’s strawberry season! These look so good!

  15. These look super delicious! I never think to use strawberries in baked goods. Thanks for sharing!

  16. Awesome! I have some “not so sweet” strawberries in my fridge that I could use for this!

  17. Those look so delicious and so simple!

  18. I love the combination of strawberries and bananas; always have them both in fruit cocktails where they balance each other so well, I’m very curious on they should taste when combined in a muffin!

  19. These look great! I have to know though, did the strawberries make the muffins mushy at all?

    • Thanks Megan! The fresh strawberries did not make my muffins mushy. I was concerned about that, so I diced them pretty small. I’ve had mushy baked goods in the past from frozen strawberries, so that’s why I was hesitant to try the fresh, but they really were great even after a few days. I think with the frozen strawberries, you really have to let them completely defrost and then drain the excess water. Thanks for asking!!!

  20. What a great combination for a muffin. Thank goodness for freezers to preserve the yumminess of berries all year long.

  21. A couple of years ago I made strawberry cheesecake muffins with homegrown strawberries, they were so delicious. I’m bookmarking these for this year.

  22. These sound so good!! I’m going to try making a vegan version with the strawberries I bought at my farmers market today 🙂

  23. I love this, need to make some ASAP 🙂

  24. Pingback: Baby Shower | Happy When Not Hungry

Leave a Reply

