Chocolate Lavender Brownies

Spring has officially arrived!  This past Sunday was beautiful and the tree outside our place even bloomed.  I had to snag a picture of it!

Because I have spring fever, I decided to bake some Chocolate Lavender Brownies.  Lavender is a very unique and strong flavor that definitely reminds me of spring.  It can often times overpower whatever you’re adding it to, but I was conservative with it because I wanted to taste the chocolate while still taste the slightest hint of lavender.  These brownies were delicious and the lavender complements the chocolate nicely!

Have you ever tried baking with lavender?  If so, what flavors do you think lavender complements?

Ingredients:

  • ½ cup unsalted butter, cut into 4 pieces
  • 3 oz. unsweetened chocolate, finely chopped
  • 1 cup sugar
  • Pinch of salt
  • 2 eggs, at room temperature
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup cake flour
  • 1 tbsp dried lavender

Directions:

  1. Preheat an oven to 350°F. Lightly grease an 8-inch square baking dish.
  2. In a medium-sized saucepan over low heat, combine the butter and unsweetened chocolate. Heat, stirring often, until melted, about 4 minutes.
  3. Remove from the heat and stir in the sugar and salt. Add the eggs and vanilla and stir until well blended.
  4. Mix the flour and lavender together and sprinkle over the wet ingredients.  Stir until combined.
  5. Pour the batter into the prepared dish and spread evenly. Bake until a toothpick inserted into the center of the brownies comes out almost completely clean, about 30 minutes (longer if using a metal pan).  Transfer the pan to a wire rack and let cool completely. Cut into 12 sqaures.

*Adapted from William Sonoma Cookies

25 Comments

Filed under Baked Goods, Desserts

25 responses to “Chocolate Lavender Brownies

  1. Lavender does wonderful things with chocolates of all types. I especially enjoy it with vanilla-infused white chocolate. These brownies look nice and dense – delicious.

  2. This really sounds delicious! I never used Lavender..how unique, at least for me!:) Beautiful pictures too! Thanks for sharing!

    • Thank you so much! The first time I used lavender I used way too much – a little definitely goes a long way. The full flavor also doesn’t come through when you add it to the batter; you really need to wait until it bakes. Definitely give it a try!

  3. Using lavender in a recipe is new for me but i can just imagine the wonderful aroma it brings to these brownies. Awesome work!

  4. I love lavender in white chocolate truffles. It’s really great used sparingly in savoury dishes too. We had a Lamb dish at the restaurant flavoured with lavender, garlic & honey which was really popular. Think of lamb & rosemary but a bit more floral. I use 3 or 4 stems tied together with raffia as my table settings too. Looks like lavender brownies has to go on the list too. ;D

    • Wow white chocolate truffles with lavender sounds amazing! That’s the second comment I’ve gotten to use white chocolate with lavender so I’ll def have to try. I’ve never thought to cook with it as well, but lamb and some lavender does sound very appetizing. Thanks for the great tips!! Hope your detox is going well too 🙂

  5. Wow Kara these look AMAZING!! I’ve never really used lavender in cooking before but you wouldn’t have to twist my arm too hard to taste it.. =)

  6. These sound delicious and would be great for my upcoming bake sale! I’m inspired.

  7. So lovely! I haven’t tried baking with lavender yet (I tend to dump it in booze for infusions) but this recipe is seriously tempting me. Spring is here! Yay!

  8. I’ve had lavendar chocolate once, not good, blech. Chocolate was too dark and lavendar was too powerful. Maybe the subtle hint these brownies would be better? They certainly look yummy!

  9. Hi Kara! How unique and nice touch! It sounds sophisticated and I’m sure we’ll all like this chocolate lavender brownie! Do you just use regular lavender (that’s dried) and do you grind it first or just dump in?

    • Thanks Nami!!! I just used dried lavender that has not been ground. The buds are fairly small and they break up a little while they’re baking. More is less too! The first time I baked with lavender I used way too much and had to end up throwing my scones away. Thanks for asking 🙂

  10. Liz

    I’m always game to try a new brownie recipe…and the addition of lavender is intriguing. I noticed my lavender is coming back in my herb garden, so I have no excuse not to try 🙂

  11. I’ve always wanted to try cooking with lavender. There’s a booth at the farmer’s market that sells it, and I always slow down when I go by, but haven’t pulled the trigger. This is great inspiration…your brownies look delish!

  12. I have never tried baking/cooking with lavender. I bet it tastes delicious! I love the picture of that tree…so pretty! I love this time of year! 🙂

  13. I think chocolate and lavender are heavenly together. We are growing some in our yard, and I’m eager to use it! Your creations and your appreciation for good food and a full life are inspiring. And thank you for your kind words on my own blog…they made me smile. I hope you have a bountiful week!

  14. Daddy Kenyon

    Kara – what a great recipe, sounds delicious.
    luv ya,
    Daddy

  15. Oh my goodness… I didn’t even know that you could bake with lavender! oops! I will give this a go as soon as my tree decides to birth me some lavender! 🙂

  16. I have never used lavender in a recipe before. I do apply it to my body and I know when I get massages I love the smell. What a great idea. I am going to try this!! thanks!

  17. I have never tried lavendar and chocolate. After reading this I think it is a must try. Why don’t they have a chocolate bar with this combo yet? Or am I really behind with all of this?

  18. Yummy!!! I love how it looks!
    We still have rain and cold, I wish anything looked as beautiful as that tree outside LOL

  19. Wow, I’d love to bake with lavender! I’m curious if the lavender, after it’s baked, has any therapeutic effects as I’ve heard things like lavender oil have. Hmmm, a brownie that satisfies and relaxes lol! Even if it didn’t, it’s a great idea. I bet lavender would taste good with lemon, in a buttercream, and maybe even in something uncomplicated like a shortbread cookie. I’m going to have to buy some to find out! Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

