Mexican Chickpea Salad


I generally tend to bring my lunch to work everyday, unless of course, we’ve run out of food or I don’t have time to prepare it.  However, I try to prepare my lunch at night and usually on Monday mornings, I’ll bring a gigantic lunch with numerous pieces of fruits and tupperware containers so I don’t have to prepare something every night.  I used to bring pb&j sandwiches everyday (if you opened up my lunch, you would think it belonged to a 3rd grader).  I’ve tried to change this habit and start making healthy dishes that I can eat the entire week.  This Mexican chickpea salad is the perfect solution!  I love chickpeas because they are tasty and high in protein.  I used canned chickpeas for this recipe because they’re less time consuming and still taste great with all the fresh ingredients and flavors.  Definitely give this chickpea salad a try – it’s easy to make and so fresh and healthy too!

Ingredients:

  • 1 jalapeño pepper, seeded and finely diced
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 3 medium vine-ripened tomatoes, diced
  • Two 19-ounce cans chickpeas
  • 1/4 cup extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1/4 cup fresh lime juice plus additional to taste
  • 3 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro leaves
  • Fresh ground black pepper and sea salt for seasoning

Directions:

  1. Rinse and drain chick-peas and in a large bowl stir together all ingredients except additional lime juice.
  2. Chill salad, covered, at least 2 hours.
  3. Season salad with salt and add additional lime juice. Serve salad cool.
17 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

17 responses to “Mexican Chickpea Salad

  1. This salad looks nice and easy and very healthy … a nice change after all the holiday food … but that ricotta pie down there looks simply decadent! Great job it must have tasted delicious.

  2. I’m a big fan of bringing my own food too, except of course, when I run out of food too 🙂 Fantastic looking dish, it looks like it would be super filling.

  3. Oh my – this is right up my alley.

    So simple, but I have found the the simplest salads are the tastiest.

    Thank so much for this recipe – I will be trying it SOON!

  4. Sorry I’ve been MIA, my modem blew up in a thunder storm! This salad is right up my street, I love chickpeas!!’D

  5. gingerbreadbagels

    I love chickpeas but have never thought of making a Mexican Chickpea Salad. I absolutely LOVE this idea. It looks so good! 🙂 My mama would love this too.

  6. Liz

    I always have a can or two of chick peas on hand…so this is a perfect salad to whip up! Love all the flavors…mmmmm…and so healthy, too!

  7. I love chickpeas. This looks so fresh and easy! Yum! Thanks for sharing it..

  8. This looks delicious Kara! I have been really busy lately at night so have been looking for things to make that are grab and go for the week. This sounds right up my alley!

  9. Tes

    Your salad looks so fresh and healthy. I love that it sounds so simple to make. I will try this soon for lunch 🙂

  10. I’ve gotten in the habit of bringing my lunch to work too, we have a greasy cafeteria that is way way too tempting, and this salad is going to make its way on to the lunch list for sure!

  11. Looks delicious and healthy! I love adding chickpeas to recipes…I need to give this salad a try! 🙂

  12. LOL on pb&j ..great post and recipe is refreshing and tasty! Yummy for sure!!

  13. This looks great! I’m looking for good things to make for lunch too, so this couldn’t have come at a better time.

  14. Nina

    Hi Kara,
    What a great idea. I think I will have to try this for lunch next week. Looks really appetizing and colorful.
    Nina

  15. This is a perfect lunch. You are so smart to make it all ahead.

  16. i like chicpeas, especially in salads…this looks awesome and healthy too!

  17. I am obsessed with cilantro–and I really love chickpeas. Both of those with the lime juice just sounds so good and perfect for the weather. 🙂

Leave a Reply

