Trail Mix Granola Bars


I hope you had a wonderful weekend!  I made these Trail Mix Granola Bars this past weekend.  The recipe has been adapted from Jenna’s of Eat, Live, Run.  I have to be honest… these bars are amazing and are highly addicting.  I literally ate half of them in two days.  I am obsessed with these bars because they’re so easy to make and don’t even require you to turn your oven on!  I also love these babies because they are healthy; they don’t have any eggs, butter, corn syrup, etc.  They have peanut butter and honey to bind them and a bunch of yummy additions like unsweetened coconut, dried fruit, and nuts.  You can add whatever fruits or nuts you’d like.  They are easy to make and are healthier than the store bought granola bars.  You might even save some money too!  Enjoy 🙂


Ingredients:

  • 1 cup honey
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup peanut butter
  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup flax meal
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
  • 1/2 cup sliced almonds
  • 3/4 cup dried fruit ( I used a mix of dried berries)

Directions:

  1. Combine the honey, vanilla, salt, sugar and peanut butter in a medium sized saucepan and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to simmer and cook for about four minutes, stirring occasionally.
  2. In a large bowl, combine all other ingredients. Pour the boiling honey mixture over the oat mixture and toss well.
  3. Grease a 13 x 9″ pan and press down mixture (I wet my fingers so they weren’t sticking as much).
  4. Chill in fridge for an hour, or until firm, before cutting into bars.

*Adapted from Eat, Live, Run

11 Comments

Filed under Breakfast

11 responses to “Trail Mix Granola Bars

  1. I love granola bars and have been looking for a recipe to make some. This recipe has all the ingredients that I love. I can’t wait to make them.

  2. Mom Kenyon

    Oh my goodness, I just got done making these yummy bars. The aroma as you are making these are amazing. I can’t wait until they cool so I can dive into them. Thanks, Kar!!

  3. These granola bars sound so filling, perfect for after a big workout! I even think I have most of the ingredients, save for the flax. I stop at the grocery store might be in order!

  4. Great recipe, I love everything that you used..Delicious bars for sure!!! Thanks you for sharing!

  5. I LOVE making my own granola bars! Looks delicious! 🙂

  6. I love that these have coconut in them!! Yummy granola bars!

  7. I’ve seen so many posts on homemade granola bars and yours look wonderful too! Homemade one gotta be great because so many people are making their own… I like yours especially because I love coconuts.. those are the best! I love love coconut…maybe I would use a double amount. LOL.

  8. Those sound very healthy and delicious, love all the ingredients here.

  9. AWH! I want! I want! I want that right now!!

  10. Mmmmm! I love great granola bar recipes (like this one!) to try!

  11. Crystal Z.

    I heard about these bars recently and looked back through to find this recipe. I made them last week and they were amazing. They were easy to make and healthy definitely something I will repeat!

Leave a Reply

