Mexican Bean Salad


It’s almost Cinco de Mayo, so I wanted to share with you one of my sister’s recipes that my family loves!  This Mexican Bean Salad is delicious and so easy to make.  There’s no stove tops or ovens involved; all you do is throw the ingredients together and allow them to sit in your refrigerator so the flavors can blend.  We’ve had this salad as a side dish numerous times with various entrees including shrimp kabobs, grilled chicken, etc.  I love simple salads like this because they remind me of bbqs and summer.  While DC has been a little too steamy for me as of late, I’m hoping that spring (i.e. 70’s) will decide to stay here for at least a few more weeks before the extreme humidity begins!  What are your favorite recipes for Cinco de Mayo?

Salad Ingredients:

  • 2 cans black beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 can dark red kidney beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 can sweet corn, rinsed
  • 1 1/2 cups grape tomatoes, halved
  • 1 green bell pepper, diced
  • 1 jalapeno, seeded and finely diced
  • 1/2 cup sliced scallions/green onions
  • 1/4 cup fresh cilantro, chopped

 Dressing Ingredients:

  • 3 tbsp cider vinegar
  • 3 tbsp canola oil
  • 1 tbsp chili powder
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 tsp black pepper

 Directions:

  1. In large bowl, mix salad ingredients and in another small bowl, mix dressing ingredients with wire whisk until blended.
  2. Pour dressing over salad; toss to mix. Cover and refrigerate at least 4 hours to blend flavors.

*Adapted from Betty Crocker

11 Comments

Filed under Side Dishes, Soup & Salad

11 responses to “Mexican Bean Salad

  1. I love bean salads and yours looks so vibrant and full of wonderful flavors:)

  2. Yuuuuum!! bring some of this to my office for me? k! thanks bye. 🙂

  3. This is a greatlooking bean salad!

  4. This looks lovely! I’ve definitely got a Mexican head on now. Dinner is forming in my brain as we speak!!;D

  5. Hooray for no cooking required! Love that!! Perfect summertime salad!

  6. Amy

    Bean salads are awesome! I love all of the beautiful colors in yours, perfect for Cinco De Mayo!

  7. Liz

    Oh, what a delightful, healthy and delicious salad! YUM!

  8. Hi Kara! Oh I love this salad and pretty much you don’t have to do anything but mixing and chilling. 🙂 It’s nice to have just one more salad dish (that requires less work) when guests come over. I heard East Coast summer is humid and hot like Japan… I’m really happy with California dry summer with no humidity. However you guys get best fall season with beautiful foliage!

    • Thanks Nami!!! The summers in Washington, D.C. are extremely hot and humid. But I love the fall and definitely love the beautiful foliage. Also, love the California weather that you get to enjoy all year long, especially no humidity. 🙂

Leave a Reply

