Queso Fundido & Top 10 Restaurants

My hubby loves tortilla chips and queso dip – it is definitely his go-to snack of choice.  This past weekend, I decided to greet him at the door with some homemade Queso Fundido based on Rick Bayless’ recipe.  Many of you have probably heard of Rick Bayless before; he has been dubbed the godfather of authentic Mexican cuisine.  One of his restaurants, Frontera Grill, is located in Chicago, IL and is definitely one of the restaurants that I want to eat at before I die.  Yes, I have a long list of restaurants from around the world that I would absolutely love to dine at.  When I mean dine, I mean spend 3 hours eating the 5-course tasting menu with wine pairings (i.e. the works).  I can dream right?  Here’s my top 10 list in alphabetical order.  I have so many more restaurants I could’ve added, but here are the big papas!
Ingredients:
  • 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 medium tomato—cored, seeded and cut into 1/4-inch dice
  • 1 jalapeño, seeded and minced
  • 1 small onion, cut into 1/4-inch dice
  • Sea salt
  • 3 tbsp tequila
  • 8 oz. Monterey Jack cheese, shredded
  • 1/4 cup coarsely chopped cilantro
  • Warm corn tortillas or corn chips, for serving

Directions:

  1. In a large skillet, heat the olive oil. Add the diced tomato, minced jalapeño, diced onion and a large pinch of salt and cook over moderately high heat, stirring often, until softened, about 5 minutes.
  2. Pour in the tequila and cook, stirring frequently, until the skillet looks nearly dry, about 2 minutes.
  3. Reduce the heat to low. Add the cheese and cook, stirring constantly, until fully melted, about 30 seconds.
  4. Quickly transfer the queso fundido to a serving bowl. Sprinkle with the cilantro and serve immediately, with tortillas or chips.

*Adapted from Rick Bayless

11 Comments

Filed under Appetizers

11 responses to “Queso Fundido & Top 10 Restaurants

  1. Oh my goodness, that dip look dipalicious:)) wow..I would love this!!Great photos!!!

  2. Eating at Rick Bayless’ restaurant is on my list, as well. This queso dip looks incredible! My husband and I are huge queso fans, as well. Mmmmm.

  3. Hi Kara! Hmm never tried queso but sounds like great snack! Now I know what it is and must try next time (or cook on my own)! I have been to Chez Panisse before and it was very nice. 🙂 My brother-in-law just went to French Laundry the past weekend and shared all the pictures of food he ate there. It’s just amazing. We really want to go, but it’ll cost us more than $1000 for a couple so we are waiting for the right time and occasion. I’m interested in other restaurants you listed. And yes we can always dream about eating at a good restaurant…

  4. Tes

    Oh wow the dip looks super gooey and delicious 🙂 I will definitely try this 🙂

  5. Liss

    Wow, this dip looks amazing! Nice post.

  6. Ooooh, cheese, I miss cheese, I could just eat that with a spoon!! I love your restaurant list idea, I’m going to do that. Mine are all over the world though, I’m going to need a lot of money and time to complete it. How cool would that be, to eat your way around the world?! “sigh”

  7. Wow this dip looks addicting. I am drooling right now, I need this!

  8. This looks really good. I order it all of the time in restaurants. I never thought of making it at home. Melted cheese kind of scares me to be honest; I have had my fair share of bad fondue experiences. I am going to Chicago this fall and guess what is top on my list?

Leave a comment