Baby Shower

This is the first time that I’ve officially mentioned on my blog that my older sister is having a baby!!! It’s our family’s first baby, so everyone is extremely excited for this little bundle of joy to arrive. My sister is doing extremely well and she looks fabulous – she’s 29 weeks pregnant in this photo, but you could never tell she’s that far along!!

This shower is actually #1 of 2 baby showers that my Mom and I are throwing for her. This first one was thrown at her house down here in NOVA for her friends in the area. The second one will be at a restaurant up in Syracuse for our family and family friends. Since this was the smaller shower of the two, my Mom and I still went to work with designing the perfect brunch menu that my sister would love. I baked several goodies including my Strawberry Banana Muffins, Whole Wheat Cinnamon Raisin Bread, and these guys: Chocolate Chip Toffee Muffins. They were super delicious. I actually baked them a week before the shower and froze them. Then I left them out at room temperature the day before; they defrosted beautifully and tasted amazing! I was actually worried about freezing muffins because I’d never done it before and was scared that you would get some of that nasty freezer-burn taste. None of that here though šŸ™‚


In addtion to the breads and baked goods, we made my Mom’s infamous Sausage & Egg Casserole. My Mom has been making this egg dish for Christmas brunch every year for as long as I can remember. But she only makes it for Christmas brunch and since my sis loves it, we decided to break with tradition and make it. Instead of making the casserole in a 13×9 inch pan, we made individual muffin cups of the casserole. They came out really cute and the muffin-sized portions were easier to serve to the lovely ladies. We also made some tasty homefries to go along with the egg and sausage dish. For drinks, I made Strawberry Agua Fresca via Jenna of Eat, Live, Run. This drink is fabulous! It’s so easy to make, but tastes so refreshing and healthy. We left them non-alcoholic, but adding some Prosecco would make this drink even better.

Last, my Mom made her Baby Pacifier Candies. This is another treat that my Mom has made for numerous baby showers. They’re so easy to make, but make such cute treats for each of the ladies to take home. They’re made out of a peppermint patty, a jelly bean, and a mint and chocolate holds them all together. Super cute right?

We had such a great time throwing my sister this baby shower! She (and baby) got some wonderful gifts as well. We were also happy that my mother-in-law and sister-in-law were able to attend as well. Stay tuned for details about the baby shower coming up in Syracuse; my Mom and I have some more creative treats in store!

Have you ever thrown a baby shower or attended one? What cute/unique treats have you seen before?

Also, stop by Steph’s Bite By Bite this Friday, May 13th for her Online Bake Sale! Steph is raising money to help in the fight against Leukemia, Lymphoma, Hodgkin’s Disease, and Myeloma. A lot of great bloggers are donating their baked goods to help Steph support this wonderful cause. I’m donating my Peanut Butter Banana Bread, so be sure to stop by and bid on some baked goodies!

Chocolate Chip Toffee Muffins

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 tbsp vanilla extract
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 cup semisweet chocolate chips
  • 1 cup toffee bits

Directions:

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 and grease 24 mini muffin tins with cooking spray or paper liners.
  2. In a bowl, whisk together the melted butter, milk, eggs, and vanilla until smooth.
  3. In the bowl of a stand mixer, stir together the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. Make a well in the center and add the butter mix. Beat until smooth, about 2 minutes.
  4. Fold in the chocolate chips and toffee chips with a spatula until distributed evenly.
  5. Using a cookie scoop, fill each muffin cup level with the rim.
  6. Bake until golden, about 20 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.
  7. Let the muffins cool for 5 minutes before removing from muffin tin.
  8. Serve at room temperature or freeze for future use.
11 Comments

Filed under Appetizers, Baked Goods, Bread, Breakfast, Desserts

11 responses to “Baby Shower

  1. Oh your muffins look wonderful! Congratulations on your soon-to-be-Aunt-hood!!!

  2. Wow Kara this all looks so cute! I can’t believe your sister is 29 weeks… she looks SO good for being that far along!

  3. Those pacifiers are so so cute.

  4. Congratulations! Those pacifiers look so fun! Bet those muffins taste wonderful!

  5. Congratulations to your sister! You must be so excited to be an auntie and I’m sure you will spoil the baby with your baking sweets. Um maybe too young. =P But all the food looks so delicious and you and your mom are very good cook!

  6. Those pacifier are the best! Congrats to you and your sister!

  7. Hi Kara! Just stopped by to say “hi” and thank you for your comment when I was guest blogger at Brandie’s place yesterday. Your sister makes a beautiful pregnant lady! Baby showers are so much fun and I know everyone in your family is excited over this new addition. I enjoyed checking out your blog. Judy

  8. We are a huge fan of muffins at this house, these sound wonderful! I love the baby pacifier candy – super cute!

  9. Congrats to your sister! And I love all of the dishes! Super cute!

  10. What a lovely party. I wish your sister loads of luck with the new bundle of joy! She is lucky to have such a nice sister and mother to throw her two baby showers. Everything looked perfect… but those baby pacifiers were too cute for words. : )

  11. YAY! CONGRATS to your sis! Everything looks yummylicious!!

Leave a Reply

