Balsamic Portobello Burgers

I’m not a huge fan of mushrooms.  I actually like them raw with some sort of dip better than I like them cooked, except of course for Portobello mushrooms.  Portobellos are amazing in my opinion!  I saw them at the store and decided to make some Balsamic Portobello Burgers.  These burgers were fantastic and so hearty and healthy.  My hubby loved them and said that he didn’t even miss the meat.  This is good news for me since I try to cook as healthy as possible which means using ground turkey instead of ground beef, but now I’ll be using Portobellos more.  Portobellos are a wonderful substitute for ground turkey or beef because they are so hearty and healthy.  You truly forget that you’re eating a gigantic mushroom rather than a big slab of beef.  I grilled these guys on my grill pan, but obviously using a good old charcoal grill would make these mushrooms taste even better.  I had some poppy seed buns that I served them on along with a side of sweet potato fries.  This is the perfect meal to get your grill on and enjoy this beautiful weather!

 Do you enjoy Portobello mushrooms?  Do you think they’re a good substitute for meat? 

Also, stop by Steph’s Bite By Bite this Friday, May 13th for her Online Bake Sale! Steph is raising money to help in the fight against Leukemia, Lymphoma, Hodgkin’s Disease, and Myeloma. A lot of great bloggers are donating their baked goods to help Steph support this wonderful cause. I’m donating my Peanut Butter Banana Bread, so be sure to stop by and bid on some baked goodies!

Ingredients:

  • 2 tbsp extra-virgin olive oil
  • 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • Sea salt and fresh ground pepper for seasoning
  • 4 Portobello mushrooms, stems removed
  • 4 slices of Mozzarella cheese
  • 4 round rolls (I used poppy seed
  • 1 tomato, sliced
  • Several pieces of lettuce

Directions:

  1. Prepare a medium-hot fire in a grill or preheat a stovetop grill pan.
  2. In a small bowl, stir together the olive oil, vinegar, garlic, salt, and pepper. Brush both sides of the mushrooms with the oil mixture.
  3. Place the mushrooms, stem side up, on the grill and cook until nicely grill-marked, about 4 minutes. Turn the mushrooms over and cook until tender, about 4 minutes more.
  4. 1 minute before Portobellos are done, place cheese slices on top and cook until melted.
  5. Place burger on bun and top with lettuce and slice of tomato.
11 Comments

Filed under Main Course

11 responses to “Balsamic Portobello Burgers

  1. Yummy! What a fabulous summertime treat!

  2. I’m opposite in that I love all sorts of cooked mushrooms, but cannot stand them raw. I do love portobello though! I don’t think they can truly take the place of a good beef burger, but they are wonderful. 🙂

  3. The burger looks sensational with balsamic mushrooms!

  4. Oh so perfect for summer! I love portobella burgers. The balsamic on them sounds delish! 🙂

  5. yummmm can’t wait to try these. sounds delicious!

  6. Oh my yumminess!! These are going on the list for this Sunday’s bbq… thank you for the fantastic burgers!!!

  7. Daddy Kenyon

    Kara:
    Mom and I just had acouple of these – soooooooo good.
    You da girl !
    Daddy Flay

  8. Great medium meal to give the boys their need for ” meat” and flavor, while kicking up the healthy aspect. I love portabella mushrooms, and grilled make a great meatless burger.

  9. Pingback: Lindsay Loves #9 | The Lean Green Bean

  10. bakingdevils

    This is a brilliant option for us veggies…I will surely make this…

    Shilpa

Leave a Reply

