Toasted Coconut Cake

This past weekend, my sister-in-law graduated from college (yay!), so my hubby’s family was down here for the festivities.  My brother-in-law’s birthday is next week, so I decided to bake a Toasted Coconut Cake for him and my sister-in-law to enjoy.  I used organic, unsweetened coconut that my Aunt had given me.  I toasted the coconut which not only brings out the flavor, but also gives the cake a beautiful golden color.  I made three cakes and layered frosting in between.  This cake is awesome and definitely will make some tummies very happy.  Hope you had a wonderful weekend!  Enjoy 🙂

Cake Ingredients:

  • 1 tbsp cake flour
  • 12 ounces or 3 cups of sifted cake flour
  •  2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 3/4 cups sugar, divided
  • 2/3 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup coconut milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 6 large egg whites
  • 1 cup unsweetened coconut, toasted

Frosting:

  • 4 large egg whites
  • 1/4 tsp cream of tartar
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 2 tbsp sugar
  • 1 1/4 cups sugar
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 2 cups unsweetened coconut, toasted

Directions:

  1. To prepare the cake, preheat oven to 350 and lightly coat 3 (9-inch) round cake pans with cooking spray.  Dust pans with 1 tablespoon flour.
  2. On a baking sheet, spread out unsweetened coconut and bake, stirring occasionally, until golden, 7-10 minutes.
  3. Combine flour, baking powder, and salt in a small bowl and set aside.
  4. Place 1 1/2 cups plus 2 tablespoons sugar and butter in a large bowl and beat with a mixer at medium speed for 2 1/2 minutes or until well blended.  Note: I used a hand-held mixer since I wanted to use my stand mixer to beat the egg whites.
  5. Add flour mixture and coconut milk alternately to sugar mixture, beginning and ending with flour mixture. Beat in vanilla and coconut.
  6. In the bowl of a stand mixer, beat 6 egg whites on high speed until foamy. Add remaining 2 tablespoons sugar, 1 tablespoon at a time, beating until stiff peaks form (do not overbeat).
  7. Carefully fold egg whites into batter and pour batter equally into prepared pans. Bake for 18 minutes or until a wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean.
  8. Cool in pans 10 minutes on wire racks and then remove from pans to cool completely on wire racks.

Frosting Directions:

  1. To prepare frosting, combine 4 egg whites, cream of tartar, and salt in the bowl of stand mixer and beat at high speed until foamy.  Add 2 tablespoons sugar, 1 tablespoon at a time, beating until stiff peaks form.
  2. Combine sugar and water in a saucepan and bring to a boil.  Cook, without stirring, until candy thermometer registers 250°.
  3. With mixer on low speed, pour hot sugar syrup in a thin stream over egg whites.  Gradually increase speed to high and beat 8 minutes or until thick and cool.  Stir in vanilla.
  4. Place 1 cake layer on a serving plate and spread with 1 cup frosting.  Top with another cake layer.  Repeat procedure with 1 cup frosting and remaining cake layer, ending with cake layer on top.  Spread remaining frosting over top and sides of cake.  Gently press shaved coconut onto top and sides of cake.  Store cake loosely covered in refrigerator.

*Adapted from Cooking Light

32 Comments

Filed under Desserts

32 responses to “Toasted Coconut Cake

  1. This is absolute gorgeousness! I love coconut cake! Last night I posted about pineapple coconut cupcakes that I made. Coconut just simply rocks 🙂 Congrats to your SIL on graduating! I’m so excited to be in the same boat in less than a month now!

  2. Amy

    Mmm…this looks so good! I love toasted coconut, the kind you used here, not the sweetened kind most people use. That is why this sounds absolutely amazing! I love the affect the crunchy coconut against the sweet smooth frosting gives! Great cake recipe :)! I am sure it was much appriciated by the brother and sister inlaw :)!

  3. The coconut is so pretty!

  4. I love coconut cake. It is the perfect cake for such a great celebration.

  5. I love coconut cake! This looks so pretty!

  6. Oh wow!! That is gorgeous! And delicious! I love everything about this cake… beautiful job!

  7. This looks so good. I am just learning how to use coconut milk in recipes like this to really bring out the coconut flavor. Thanks for sharing this. It’s one of my favorites.

  8. Your cake is so beautiful and festive! I’m sure you’re brother and sister in law were very happy to receive it (I would for sure)! Have a nice week 🙂

  9. Tes

    Wow what a beautiful cake! I bet coconut add the most beautiful texture and taste to this gorgeous cake 🙂

  10. Um wow! I can’t believe you made that – its so beautiful!

  11. I am drooling over this cake. I love coconut. It is just GORGEOUS!!!

  12. What a great way to celebrate! This cake looks amazing, I’m a huge fan of coconut.

  13. HOLY YUM. This looks amazing. Must make now.

  14. Pretty doesn’t even describe this…it is GORGEOUS! Nicely done. It’s a masterpiece! And I’m sure it tasted even better.

  15. This cake is nearly killing me with abundant coconut on it! I love coconut so much and I really want to eat this, like RIGHT NOW. Your in-law family must be so happy your husband married to a superb cook/baker! Hehee.

  16. I love coconut cake! Yours looks fabulous!!!

  17. Oh, swooooon! I love toasted coconut. This cake is right up my alley and I’m not even a cake lover. I’ll be making this soon, for sure!

  18. i can never say no to a good coconut cake:) this looks so lovely. thank you for sharing this with us.

  19. Gorgeous! Just gorgeous!! I am seriously drooling here. Thank you so much for this lovely post and recipe.

  20. Mmm, toasted coconut, one of my favourite flavours. Your cake is gorgeous! Congrats to your sister-in-law!

  21. gingerbreadbagels

    What a beautiful cake! Coconut is one of my favorites. 🙂

  22. Wow. I mean WOW. This sounds really, really good. I love coconut cakes. This looks so yummy!

  23. This looks beautiful! I just found your blog from another blog that I follow and I’ve really enjoyed looking around. You’ve got good taste, girl!

  24. Coconut cake is one of my favorites! Yours looks beautiful covered in all that toasted coconut 🙂

  25. Mom Kenyon

    Oh my goodness!! This cake looks amazing. I love coconut. I’ve never seen coconut like this. I need to find out where you got it. Maybe you can make me a cake like this when you come home some time.

  26. I love the flavor of coconut in a cake and the wonderful taste of toasted coconut on top. This is definitely a great cake!!

  27. I love that you used the organic coconut in large grated pieces; it makes a beautiful presentation! I have a coconut-loving friend that will die for this as her birthday cake!

  28. oh yeah!!! I am loving this! Anything coconut and I am drooling….I need to make this now! 😉

  29. This is beautiful. I love the color of the toasted coconut. And not to mention the awesome nutty flavor… Great job!

  30. Pingback: My Top 10 Favorite Recipes from 2011 | Happy When Not Hungry

Leave a Reply

