Fruit and Nut Muesli

When I was doing graduate school work in Italy three years ago, I lived in a hotel for four weeks.  Normally, living out of a suitcase for that long would drive me crazy especially because it would mean that I couldn’t cook my own meals.  But in Italy, I had a lot of healthy and delicious meal options to choose from.  One of my favorite breakfast options was Fruit and Nut Muesli.  Muesli is so easy to make and so delicious.  Every morning I would mix it with different fresh fruits, nuts, and yogurt.  It’s not only delicious, but it’s filling as well.  Definitely give this recipe a try!

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 cups quick-cooking oats
  • 2/3 cup milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2/3 cup fresh orange juice
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1-2 medium apple, finely diced
  • 1 cup strawberries, diced
  • 1 cup sliced almonds

Directions:

  1. Mix oats, milk, and vanilla extract in a large bowl.  Let it stand 5 minutes to soften oats.
  2. Whisk orange juice and honey in medium bowl.  Stir in apples, strawberries, and almonds.
  3. Stir fruit mixture into oat mixture, cover, and chill in refrigerator for at least 1 hour.
17 Comments

Filed under Breakfast

17 responses to “Fruit and Nut Muesli

  1. This looks like an easy, healthy breakfast! What a great way to incorporate those summer fruits that will be coming into the farmer’s markets soon!

  2. YUMMO! I absolutely love your recipes! Always healthy and delicious… beautiful job, my friend!

  3. This looks delicious! I love that it requires ZERO cooking!

  4. What a great breakfast! I love how easy it looks, too.

  5. I have to give this a try! It looks so quick and easy…although I may have a hard time waiting an hour before I can eat it! Yummy! 🙂

  6. Hi Kara! Your story about living in Italy sounds so nice….. I hope to hear more about your experience in the post. 🙂 This looks very easy to make and delicious. What a healthy breakfast!

  7. Love this breakfast idea, almonds for me are so reminding of Italy! 🙂

  8. I visited Italy during high school, and I’ve longed to return. Your muesli looks so delicious. Thank you for sharing your lovely concoction with me…and for your kind words on my own blog. I hope you have a wonderful evening!

  9. Liss

    Wow! This looks delicious and like a great snack! I’ll have to try making it!

  10. Lindsey @ Gingerbread Bagels

    I LOVE muesli and yours look soooo good. Now I’m craving it! 🙂

  11. this looks amazing! i have never had muesli. would love to try it now.

  12. Yum! I grew up on muesli, and have actually always preferred it to granola. This version looks like a great way to start the day!

  13. Your muesli looks perfect! Looks like my kind of breakfast!!

  14. This looks fantastic! I’ve never made muesli before, but love chilled, healthy breakfasts in the summer…they are the perfect start to the day. Thank you for this one 🙂

  15. This sounds refreshing and healthy balanced breakfast! Love all the ingredients! Nicely done, thanks for sharing your story!

  16. I love breakfasts like this. Hotel room or not, you always need something quick, healthy, and hearty in the morning!

  17. This is my breakfast every day! Without the milk, of course, I just pour the orange juice over the oats. I’m going to pretend I’m in an Italian hotel tomorrow morning now, thanks!! 😀

Leave a Reply

