Strawberry Spinach Salad & Bowling at the White House


Guess what I did tonight?  I went bowling at the White House!!!  My hubby and I were invited by a friend who is on detail there.  There were about 12 of us that went and it was definitely an amazing experience (a lot more fun than our usual Wii Bowling).  Check out some of my photos.

Bowling was definitely a cool experience… now on to the food!  Since strawberries are in season down here in the DC Metro Area, I decided to make this fresh and healthy Strawberry & Spinach Salad.  This salad is so simple to make and so beautiful as well.  I added a little red onion for extra flavor and some walnuts for crunch.  The vinaigrette I used is really simple; I just whisk olive oil with fresh lemon juice, lemon zest, sea salt, and fresh cracked pepper.  It’s simple, but that’s all you need for this flavorful and fresh salad.  Enjoy and have a wonderful Memorial Day Weekend!!

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups loosely packed baby spinach leaves, washed and patted dry with paper towels
  • 1/2 red onion, finely diced
  • 1 cup walnut halves
  • 1 ½ cups fresh strawberries, halved
  • 1/3 cup extra virgin olive oil
  • Juice of 1 lemon
  • 1 tbsp fresh lemon zest
  • Sea salt and fresh cracked pepper for seasoning

Directions:

  1. In a medium-sized serving bowl, lightly toss spinach, onion, walnuts, and strawberries and set aside.
  2. In a small mixing bowl, whisk olive oil, lemon juice, lemon zest, salt, and pepper until combined.  Pour dressing over salad and lightly toss until coated.

 


10 Comments

Filed under Side Dishes, Soup & Salad

10 responses to “Strawberry Spinach Salad & Bowling at the White House

  1. Oh wow! How cool is it that you got to go bowling in the White House! Not many people get to say that thye did that.

  2. Nina

    Wow Kara, That is something really special. How special. Your salad looks so yummy. The photo looks so professional. Great job. Enjoy your memorial day weekend.
    Nina

  3. Bowling in the White House? Lucky you 🙂 The salad looks so refreshing and delicious! Have a nice weekend 🙂

  4. That salad looks beautiful will have to try it this weekend! Enjoy your weekend although how do you follow bowling at The White House? 😀

  5. Wonderful salad! How cool – bowling at the White House?!?!

  6. That’s so cool! I love strawberries in my salad. Have you ever tried strawberries drizzled with a little high-quality balsamic vinegar? It’s even better over vanilla ice cream!

  7. I’m jealous! so jealous!! Lucky!! I don’t like bowling, but I would LOVE to bowl at the White House! And brag about it!! 🙂
    Now I’m gonna go back up and read about the salad. 😉

  8. Holy cow, are you SERIOUS!?! Bowling at the white house sounds ridiculously UNREAL and like so much fun!!! ps that salad looks absolutely great, I’m so happy I found your blog!

  9. That salad looks perfect! That is my kind of recipe, very simple and pretty too. If it’s as delicious as it looks, I’ll be making it over and over this summer. Thanks!

  10. This is what my husband was talking about (he responded to your comment and that’s how I learned)! WOW! That’s sooooooooooo cooooool. You have a cool friend! And I love your strawberry salad. Looks like my kids will eat it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

