Blueberry Glazed Doughnut Muffins

One of my best friends came to visit me this past Memorial Day weekend so I decided to make him a delicious breakfast!  While I don’t eat doughnuts often, one of my favorites that I usually gravitate towards when I do eat them is a blueberry glazed doughnut.  There’s something about these doughnuts that is amazing… the blueberry flavor or the glaze frosting?  Recently, I saw a recipe for glazed doughnut muffins that looked fabulous, so I knew I had to make Blueberry Glazed Doughnut Muffins.  These muffins came out delicious especially with the addition of the glazed frosting.  I tried to make these muffins a bit more healthy by adding applesauce and whole wheat flour.  Definitely give these muffins a try if you’re having a good friend over for breakfast or if you just feel like eating 15 blueberry glazed doughnut muffins.  Hope you had a wonderful Memorial Day!

In other news, I will be traveling for work and am always looking for guest bloggers.  If you’re interested, send me an email at HappyWhenNotHungry@gmail.com.


Ingredients:

  • 1/4 cup butter
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 2/3 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup whole wheat flour
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 pint blueberries, washed

For the Glaze:

  • 3 tbsp butter; melted
  • 1 cup confectioners’ sugar; sifted
  • 3/4 tsp vanilla
  • 2 tbsp hot water

Directions:
1) Preheat the oven to 425°F. Lightly grease 15 muffin tins.
2) In a medium-sized mixing bowl, cream together the butter, applesauce, and sugars till smooth.
3) Add the eggs and vanilla, beating to combine.
4) In another bowl, stir together the flours, baking powder, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt.
5) Stir the flour mixture into the butter mixture alternately with the milk, beginning and ending with the flour and making sure everything is thoroughly combined.  Gently fold in the blueberries.
6) Spoon the batter evenly into the prepared pan, filling the cups nearly full.
7) Bake the muffins for 15 -17 minutes, or until they’re a pale golden brown and a cake tester inserted into the middle of one of the center muffins comes out clean.
8.) In a medium bowl, prepare the glaze by mixing together the melted butter, confectioners’ sugar, vanilla and water. Whisk until smooth.
9.) When muffins have cooled slightly, dip the muffin crown into the glaze and allow the glaze to harden.
10.) Serve warm, or cool on a rack and wrap airtight. Muffins will keep at room temperature for about a day.

*Makes 15 muffins

Recipe adapted from My Baking Addiction

20 Comments

Filed under Baked Goods, Breakfast

20 responses to “Blueberry Glazed Doughnut Muffins

  1. Ohh, these look great. I might have to make these for my husband. He doesn’t really like blueberries but loves blueberry muffins. Yes, he’s a bit odd. 😉

  2. Oh. My. God.

    Thank you for this.

    =)

  3. This is amazing!!!! I would never thought to make doughnut muffin..I love this recipe!!!!

  4. gingerbreadbagels

    Oh my word these look sooooo good. I love doughnut muffins but these sound even more amazing with the blueberries.

  5. Wow! We absolutely LOVE muffins in this house. I think I have at least 5 different kids in the freezer right now. This is going to definitely be a must try!

  6. Liss

    I had the pleasure of sampling these muffins. They were delicious! Great job Kara!

  7. I’m drinking coffee… wishing that one of those muffins was in my other hand! Love the glaze!!

  8. Ok… I feel a bit shamed here; how have I never heard of/ shoved my mouth full of a doughnut muffin?! I have some catching up to do; for sure.

  9. My two favorite things combined: doughnuts and muffins!.. Oh my goodness. Yum.

  10. I love the glaze on top of these donut muffins. Great idea!

  11. Mom Kenyon

    These look soooooo delicious. This is the next recipe I make when I go to see Aunt Joyce. She will love them!!

  12. Delicious breakfast indeed! I love the glaze on top…such a lovely addition to one of my favorite breakfast treats. Thank you for sharing with me today, and thank you for your kind words on my blog. I appreciate them greatly!

  13. Oh. My. Word. This WILL be made in my kitchen!! Wow!

  14. Oh my. Look at those thick graze! Donuts + muffin in one. Whichever it is I’m going for this graze……. looks delicious!!!!!!!!

  15. Liz

    WOW…combining muffins with donuts??? I LOVE this! So beautiful, too~

  16. Liz

    WOW! You can’t beat this combination! That glaze puts these over the top!

  17. OH my gosh!!! These look incredible!! I must make these soon! 🙂

  18. Pingback: My Favorite Summer Recipes | Happy When Not Hungry

  19. Pingback: My Top 10 Favorite Recipes from 2011 | Happy When Not Hungry

Leave a Reply

