Pesto-Stuffed Filet Mignons with Grilled Tomatoes


Summer is here and that means it’s time to grill!!!  The other night, my hubby and I made these Pesto-Stuffed Filet Mignons with Grilled Tomatoes.  This recipe was so easy to make and so delicious.  This is the first time I’ve stuffed filet mignons and it definitely gives the meat an added depth of flavor.  The pesto was made from fresh basil from my little, back-porch herb garden.  Definitely give this recipe a try the next time you feel like grilling some filet mignons!

Ingredients:
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • 2 cups loosely packed fresh basil leaves
  • 3 tablespoons pine nuts
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  • 1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese
  • 6 filet mignons, each 5 to 6 ounces and about 1 1/2 inches thick
  • 6 slices beefsteak tomato, each about 1/2 inch thick
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • Salt and freshly ground pepper, to taste

Directions:

  1. To make the pesto, add the garlic cloves, basil, and pine nuts to a food processor and process until finely chopped.
  2. With the motor running, pour the olive oil in a steady stream to make a smooth, thick paste.  Transfer the pesto to a small bowl and stir in the cheese by hand.  Set aside.
  3. Prepare a charcoal or gas grill for direct grilling over medium-high heat.  Oil the grill rack.
  4. Using a small, sharp knife, make a horizontal cut into one side of each steak, forming a pocket almost to the edges of the steak; take care not to cut all the way through.  Using a small spoon, stuff 2 tbsp of the pesto into each pocket.  If necessary, secure the pocket with toothpicks.  Brush both sides of the steaks and tomato slices with the olive oil, and season with salt and pepper.
  5. Grill the steaks over the hottest part of the grill, turning once, until nicely charred and cooked to your liking, 5-6 minutes per side for medium-rare.
  6. While the steaks are cooking, place the tomatoes at the edges of a charcoal grill where the heat is less intense.  Grill the tomato slices, turning once with a spatula, until just softened and lightly charred, 2-4 minutes per side.
  7. Transfer the steaks to individual plates, placing each steak on or next to a tomato slice.  Serve immediately.

19 Comments

Filed under Main Course

19 responses to “Pesto-Stuffed Filet Mignons with Grilled Tomatoes

  1. What an awesome idea! I love the color!

  2. I love how vibrant your pesto is. I’ll have to try it next time we have filet mignon.

  3. Aarthi

    This looks yummy….you have a lovely blog…I am having a giveaway in my blog..Y dont you check and join that
    http://yummytummy-aarthi.blogspot.com/2011/05/chocolate-recipe-and-chocolate.html

  4. What a great idea! I never thought of stuffing pesto but I can see how delicious it is. Was it difficult to cook and pesto stayed between? I’m done with dinner but I would love to have some of this. 😉

  5. I love anything with pesto- these look phenom!

  6. I love stuffing steak and chicken with different things! Pesto is a great idea.

  7. Dan is a lucky man! This looks delish!

  8. Oooh, wow. Filet mignon? Delicious. Pesto? Delicious. I can’t even imagine how wonderful the two are together. Genius.

  9. Wow your pesto looks delicious! The whole thing is making my mouth water and you know I don’t eat meat!! 😀

  10. Pesto is so yummy! These steaks look amazing!

  11. I loooove pesto! It’s already my topping of choice for hamburgers this summer, and now I’ll have to try it with steak! 🙂 Thanks for the idea!

  12. I am reading this as I am making some pesto … perfect timing!! I would have never thought to pair it up with steak… thank you for the brilliant idea!

  13. I am now hungry; luckily Friday nights are always steak night here… one more day!

  14. Tes

    Ohhh your steak just look like it is going to melt right off the screen! The pesto looks so fresh and flavourful, too 🙂

  15. Oh my- this looks so so good! The sun was finally out this morning and I’m hearing rumors of good weather for the weekend so this recipe just might need to be added to my to do list!

  16. I love this idea! Looks delicious!

  17. Mom Kenyon

    The pesto stuffed in the steaks is a great idea. This will be definitely be the menu for tomorrow nights dinner. Love it!!

  18. Oh man, this is the way to my heart. They look so good. I feel like I need a second dinner now with this on my plate.

  19. I cant get enough of my current obsession with pesto. This looks like a great way to sneak some more in! These filets are beautiful!

Leave a Reply

